Animal encounters!


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 22nd 2007
Saved: January 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

KoalaKoalaKoala

This guy was recupperating in hospital
I'm now in Brisbane and have been quite busy since my last blog. On the first day here me and Amy went to the Australia zoo, which is the one made famous as being home to the crocodile hunter Steve Irwin. Its unlike any other zoo i've been too although its quite small the place is really interactive and you can go inside the enclosures of some of the animals such as dingos and koalas. I went round on a trip of the wildlife hospital there, they rehibilitate sick wild animals such as koalas, snakes and kangaroos you could get really up close and as we were there they were examining a sick snake which looked like a giant worm cool! The best part of the zoo is definatley the crocs which are massive and really agressive I wonder why they don't let people in their enclosures?!

Yesterday I went to Byron bay which is about 2 hours south of here, the place has a really chilled out vibe and a great long beach. I went on a walk which takes you up to the lighthouse there and to the most easterly point in Oz. It was definatly worth it as on the way back I saw a little snake and a goana (?) lizard which was huge about a metre long!

Today was really cool, we travelled from Brisbane by boat to Moreton island which is famous for its wild dolphin feeding it has crystal clear waters, yachts, ship wrecks a really beautiful resort you could spend your whole holiday there easily. I opted for a desert safari as most of the island is made up of sand there is a little desert in the middle of the island where you can go sand boarding which is basically launching yourself of a massive sand dune 60m high and reaching speeds of 45-60 kph on a peice of plywood awesome!! It was a real adrenaline rush but the down side is you get sand blasted and the sand gets everywhere in my ears and i had loads of sand in my mouth yuk!

The highlight of the day was the dolphin feeding, 8 dolphins came close enough to shore to feed my dolphin was called fred and he'd been attacked by sharks a few times so he was a bit battered but he wasn't scary at all I fed him about 6 fish which were taken straight out of my hand maybe i've got over this fish phobia afterall yay!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb