Breezing Through Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Indooroopilly
January 10th 2009
Published: January 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The day after the sail boat races I jumped on a Greyhound bus to head up to Brisbane to visit my old VOC friend Kim and my new friends Sophie, Ro, and Pete from the Tasmanian track. This was a pretty epic bus ride. It was supposed to be 14.5 hrs long. Unfortunately the bus broke down twice in the night and we had to switch buses at like 4am. I still have no idea where I was when we switched buses. I ended up getting into Brisbane after almost 21 hours.

I was lucky that Kim was also done school and between jobs, so she was able to show me around Brisbane. I didn't really do any research, she just took me to wicked cool spots. My favorite was definitely Stradbroke Island. It has amazing beaches and beautiful water. One of the best times I've ever spent at a beach was the 2 days we were at Stradbroke.

We did a couple of walks and I got to see Queenslands sub-tropical forest. It's really cool all the tall palm trees and the vines. Feels like the jungle to me.

I also saw mango trees on the street. Crazy. I always enjoy not only the things that are rare for Australia but also the things that are common. The palm trees in people yards, the cuckatoos that are everywhere, or exotic birds with long beaks that eat garbage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

33
3

Dinner at the Hunnam's
44
4

Stradbroke Island Beach
55
5

Stradbroke Campsite


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb