Day 7 - Whitsundays - Airlie Beach


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
July 5th 2017
Published: July 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

On the boat we were up at 7:20am before setting of to our second snorkelling spot of the trip. Again I was so proud of myself for getting in the water - even with the noodle! There were only 6 of us this time - me, Alex, Fabio, Alicia, Louise and Griffin. There were lots of little fish at this one and some lovely coral, but again some of the coral had been damaged by bloody Cyclone Debbie. One bit of coral that looked insane was one that looked like a brain - it made me think about how things are formed and how similar things could be - then I got water in my mask so that brought me right back to reality and to chill, those kind of thoughts are too deep for the sea (bants).



Anyway we reached the boat and set off for a sail. Our journey back to Airlie Beach was breathtaking, such lovely scenery and I loved sitting on the high side of the boat even if it made me feel a little nervous! As a thank you I let Ben and Tash keep the rest of the goon - they were very grateful. I've realised that Australians can't turn down booze, no matter how cheap it is! Love it.



We got to Base - the hostel we were staying in - and decided to have a little walk round the town and get some lunch. Our next plan was to do washing as because I had brought a ridiculously tiny bag (tactical packing) I was quickly running out of essentials, so that was refreshing to get a wash done! (I feel like age is creeping up on me). We had fajitas for tea cooked by some of the group before deciding what to do for the night - I was knackered so I headed off to bed around 8:30 (we were due to get up at 4 the next day) while the others played a couple games of uno. This night Alex lost the yes/no bracelet game so her challenge was to do the macarena on the train the next day... video to follow!

Advertisement



5th July 2017

A goon?
What actually is a goon?
5th July 2017

Goon
goon is basically wine in a box!
5th July 2017

Incredible trip!
So proud of all the activities you've done!!! Good laaaad ?

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb