How'd you digeridoo?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory
May 19th 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post



Ali  was at work today, so after I waved her off this morning, I thought I'd go for a run having not done so for weeks! The extra wobble I could feel at the rear, confirmed my lack of recent effort on the sport front, and I couldn't help but think of the song 'I like big butts' as I commenced my first attempt at running down under. I thought I'd get lost but was ok and was familiar with where Ali and I had walked on my first day here. It was hot, but bearable, and the air smells so lovely from the frangipani flowers, ( the meaning of such flower apparently being shelter and protection ) that it was quite a nice experience as far as phys goes, especially running along the path where the mangroves are- nice and scenic.
I got back and chilled out for a bit before attempting a drive into Darwin. Ali kindly had me put on her insurance (has she seen my driving?!) and drawn me directions, although it is 1 road in, 1 out- so what was I waiting for?
I got into town ok and went to the bank to get some traveller cheques cashed, and had a wander around to get my bearings. I was meeting ali at Darwin wharf precinct for lunch, and after only a little bit of getting lost, which is good for me, I parked and made my way to the cafe. Now this ia a lovely little place, with a wave pool and bars restaurants etc. Whilst I waited I thought I'd catch up with some of my blog, but my iPad switched itself off, displaying only a warning message ' the iPad needs to cool down before use' !  Even too hot for apple it seems. Ali was running a bit late so I ordered lunch, sat and read a book and just people watched in general. Even though I was sat doing nothing, it still felt great and so so laid back. When Ali got here we had coffee ( I had a lovely slice of banana bread with mine- mm mmm mmmmm!) it was great hearing all about her day at work in her new-ish job as a Defence Transition Mentor at a local school, made a real change from our usual shop talk back home (what is going on back there anyway?!) Ali is the sort of person who puts 100% into everything she does, and it made me wish I could talk about my job with the same zest and enthusiasm. Unfortunately, I can't! So whilst I've missed the girls at work, work itself seems a million miles away from here (geographically it most probably is) but it can stay there a little while longer as far as I'm concerned- life here is just too good at the minute.

Back at the ranch and I did a quick spot of sunbathing on the balcony, and those sweat glands that were non existent until yesterday were back in function, as my back was soaking wet within minutes. I had to have a quick shower before heading off to pick up Sam from rugby training and onto Mindil Beach for the market. There was a lot going on here, lots of traditional stalls e.g aboriginal art. I tried a sample of a fabulous lemon, lime and peppermint body scrub, and some argan oil moisturiser, that were naturally made (& bought one of each) and I sourced out a couple of potential digeridoos, before finding something to eat. There were food stalls from every imaginable place; Sam and I settled on noodles which were nice and spicy with coconut, and Ali had a pawpaw salad. We all had smoothies, mine the mango, lime and orange was so refreshing. ( bit of a theme here-me talking about food all the time) anyway there was a guy juggling fire and lots of people had gathered round to watch, as did we as we ate our food.

Back to the shopping and I settled on a smaller didgeridoo- I do after all have to get this thing back to England, and I bought a boomerang as well. One guy at the stall was picking out the usual size didgeridoo and was having a go on them to see which one sounded the best. I really couldn't differentiate as to what sounded good or not, it was pretty much the same noise to me. I gave the old guy on the stall my purchases to wrap up, and Sam suggested I ask him for a lesson as well. "ugh no!" said Ali " you don't want him blowing down your didgeridoo!" well this set me off laughing for some reason, as where else in the world would you hear such a comment?! It sounded like a euphemism.
Back home and night 3 of the Dvd, yes it really has taken me this long as I keep falling asleep, but I'm glad to say I got right to the end tonight with no hint of nodding dog. It must have been because Hugh Jackman was in more scenes this time. (we were watching the film Australia which a lot of is based in Darwin) if the outback is full of cattle drovers like him, Ali and I are in for a treat when we go there in a couple of days. Hugh Jackman- Now I'd let him blow down my didgeridoo......     

  

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb