The opposite End Fellas (Supplement for Tennant Creek)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Tennant Creek
September 24th 2018
Published: September 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Tennant Springs Supplemental Edition



I decided to have dinner at the Blue Stone Motor Inn restaurant "Anna's". Patricia was my waitress she was born in Chile but grew up in B.A. Argentina. Toward the end of my meal I struck up a conversation with two Aussie fellas at the table next to me. They invited me to come over and sit with them. I call them opposite end fellas because Brad (on the left) is from Victoria (Melbourne) and Jim is from Darwin. I think the only other two major cities you can get further apart then these two in Australia might be Perth and Brisbane. They were both consultants working with the indigenous people on employment prospects. We talked about the similarities the Aboriginal tribes and the Aussie's have with the US and American Indian issues. One of the biggest differences is that some of the aboriginal tribes first got exposed to the white cultures as recently as the 1970's. In fact, it wasn't until about 1974 that the Australian government fully recognized the aboriginal peoples.

They taught me a lot about the complex cultural issues the Aboriginal people face. They also gave me some tips on things to see on my way down to A.S. tomorrow. Meeting people like Brad and Jim are a big part of what these trips are all about. I gave them my link and talked about Cure Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy.

Who would have thought the Blue Stone Motor Inn would have been The dinner place in Tennant Creek..

Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb