Gahn, Gahn, Gone!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
July 19th 2011
Published: July 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

July 19TH

The Gahn Train is named after the Afghan cameleers who once traveled this route. My travel from the Red Center of Australia will take me to the edge of the continent, at Darwin. This morning after a rocky night is a welcomed sight. I paid an extra 10.00 to use the lobby car. It have electrical plug access to charge my computer and free coffee and tea for the entire journey. I don't normally drink coffee but in order to stay awake this AM I am having espresso with milk and lots of sugar!

The train stops in the town of Katherine just south of Darwin. There is a 5 hour layover and the option for many tours to see Katherine's Gorge. I decide not to take any. I have walked through so may gorges over the past days the only difference was this one has water and you are able to boat through the gorge. I decide to just take the shuttle into town and walk along the main streets.

I find a shop selling some nice shirts that I could use while in Darwin and for a reasonable price and I also buy a nice but not expensive necklace depicting aboriginal symbols of women and water.

I stop at the bakery and buy lunch to eat on the train. A pizza cheese and mushroom bun and an apple tart. Yummy and a fraction of the train diner costs.

We are delayed leaving Katherine as we have to wait on a freight train coming in the opposite direction.

Looking ahead at my paperwork I realize that I have no idea where I am staying in Darwin as part of the Intrepid Connections group. No where on my paper work is the hotel listed. Luckily Warren and Judith Ann have the hotel name. I hope I have a room there. This tour is the strangest one I have ever been on.

We arrive in Darwin. The hotel is just a little trek with all my gear and I do have a room. I have internet at a charge of $22 for anything over and hour. Holy Crap! This place is expensive%($)@($*!

It's about 7:30 when I get to my room and after unpacking, showering and getting connected to internet it's about 8:30 and my goal to to catch up with all the blogs. I long evening but won't be able to blog while I camp around the surrounding area of Darwin. Can't wait!!!!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

See the awnings offthese shopsSee the awnings offthese shops
See the awnings offthese shops

in 1998 a flood rage through this town and the water level was up to the awnings of the shops. Over 12 meters of water


20th July 2011

Nice warm weather
Look forward to hearing all about Darwin and the surrounding areas. Keep enjoying. Loving the blogs. Not surprised about being a strange trip. Lucky you are experienced at dealing with strange. and I'm not talking about me.

Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb