Gunlom'in Hike and Swim


Advertisement
Published: July 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hug a  tree for a safe climb.Hug a  tree for a safe climb.Hug a tree for a safe climb.

Okay so I was gullible.
This morning we are still in the Kakadu National Park. There are some great natural sandstone formations that we can climb in the Gunlom Lookout Walk to get to a natural waterfall the feeds into a larger upper pool and down into lower pools. These are great swimming holes as they are cool, clear and croc free water. Not too much of that around here. It is such a relaxing morning and the weather is fantastic.

We travel to the small mining town of Pine Creek and I transfer to the other tour that will take me on the last leg of my tour. There is gold in them there hills. The gold mining industry here in Australia is very strong and making their dollar stronger than ours for the first time ever this past year. You can earn 120 -150 thousand a year in those mines. It is a very sought after job. Our one guide has been trying to get in now for over a year.

The Australian ecomony is so strong that some people have begun to buy property in the USA because of our poor ecomony they see it as a good investment.

The last group of people that I will be touring with are full of Australians, and Germans. They are the most fun of any of the groups and like to joke around and have fun.

Tonight's camp is at Mt. Bundy Station, a working ranch that also has a campsite on the grounds with an inground pool.

There are wallabies, water buffalo, guinea fowls, peacocks every where. Just down the hill and past a flat field is the croc infested river. Since I learned that the croc can travel 4-5 kilometer on land to find food, I am a little weary of going anywhere near the river. They can also run/gallop up to 10 miles per hour.

Our guide got out the bull whip and we all have a go at it. I don't have any trouble getting the whip to crack. (Stop right there and don't say a thing! I know you all have a comment to make about that.)

Our dinner tonight is water buffalo, crocodile meat and kangaroo tibits. with potatos and green beans. All very good but the sauce on the kangroo has way too much soy sauce.

The last night to camp out under the fantastic Australian sky.
Oh what a night !!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Buffalot Burger for LunchBuffalot Burger for Lunch
Buffalot Burger for Lunch

Water Buffalo that is!
I can't take my eye off of you!I can't take my eye off of you!
I can't take my eye off of you!

The snake!! Okay not the snake
The snake owner.The snake owner.
The snake owner.

Not surprised are you?
Australian War MemorialAustralian War Memorial
Australian War Memorial

Darwin was bombed by the Japanese just months after Pearl Harbor, 400 were killed.


23rd July 2011

Okay, So I bought my ticket
I bought my ticket, now what was the name of that snake...... handler? Fair crack of the whip mate. You look like you are having a bloody good time. No bull about that burger.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb