Darwin!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
August 25th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy anniversary mom and dad!!!

I hopped on another bus and arrived in Darwin in the early evening. I walked up the road to my hostel and was able to get some help getting my stuff up the stairs to my room.

The next morning I headed off into town. There are some nice old buildings in Darwin. A few had been rebuilt after the bombing of Darwin city and the cyclone in the 1970's. My first stop was down by the waterfront. It's a really nice area with a netted off beachy area. It's netted off for crocs and stingers.

The convention center as well as an outdoor wavepool is also down there. The wavepool looked like so much fun but not exactly ideal for someone with broken ribs. There are some WWII oil storage tunnels nearby so I went to check them out. During the war they stored all the oil underground after the city was bombed.

Inside the tunnels are pictures from the war. Darwin was bombed by the same Japanese planes that bombed Pearl Harbour. The city was pretty much completely destroyed. The pictures told the story of the soldiers.

I walked back into town and stopped for some lunch. Because of Darwin's closeness to asia the food here is very influenced by that. I got some great vietnamese food for lunch. I then walked around the pedestrian mall in the city. After a brief rest and relax at the hostel I headed off to the Mindil Beach market.

The night market is located on Mindil beach which is a stunning setting for a market. There was live music being played around the market and heaps of stalls set up selling all kinds of things from Kangaroo leather jewelry to emu and crocodile jerky.

But the best part of the market is all the food stalls. So cheap and so yummy! They were mainly asian food stalls. My dinner was super yummy and budget friendly! And my dessert was a delicious spanish churro with dark chocolate.

The sun sets over the ocean next to the market. It's a really great market and a great way to spend the evening.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb