Nothing, What a Drag!


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post


DAY 254

Well, I don’t really know what to tell you about today, we had high hopes of an exciting afternoon, but that did not really work out, so we ended up doing nothing.

After the usual breakfast and showers, we lounged around enjoying the sunshine, well ok, not the sunshine, but the heat of the morning in the shade, this morning started quite chilly, I actually put my fleece on when I first got dressed, how bad is that? Still I must not grumble it is still warmer up here than in other parts of Australia and I have heard that some people have rain in England.

A lot of people have left the site in the last couple of days, it is still busy but not quite as bad as it had been when we first arrived. It is still the busy season, but the children go back to school next week, so the majority of travellers will be the Grey Nomads and people like us.

The most unusual thing about today is that I have seen something in Andy that I never thought I would, he found Solitaire on the laptop and has been playing it religiously, he did that and I did some “Brain Training” and played some Sudoku.

We decided to have a proper meal at lunchtime as this afternoon we are going to the drag racing. Andy checked out the details on the website, starts at 2.00 with qualifying rounds in the afternoon and the main racing at 7.00.

So I heated up the curry from last night, cooked some rice and we ate a hearty lunch to make sure that we were not having pangs of hunger and spending copious amounts of money eating our way round the Drag Racing, which is what I would normally do at these type of events in England.

We made sure we had everything in the truck cameras, sunscreen, lots to drink, sunglasses, hats, fleeces (well it may get cold later) and not to forget the good old Bushman invaluable piece of equipment.

We jumped in the truck and followed the signs to Hidden Valley, the signs were up for the Drag Racing and we were both looking forward to seeing the Drag Racing, I happened to mention to Andy how quiet it was, remembering that if we were going to Thruxton or Brands Hatch, in England, then you would be jammed in queues of traffic for miles.

There was no one around, the road was quiet and we got up to the gate, there was no one manning it, it was open so we drove in anyway. We found the Drag Racing strip and it was empty, the pits were empty, there was not a soul around, if anyone was drag racing today, then it wasn’t here! Andy checked the website and he was comfortable that what he read was right, we said we would go back to camp and check anyway. The strange thing is that the signs were still up advertising the Drag Racing today.

Back at camp we settled down with a cup of tea, Andy checked the website and sure enough it was all on there, even down to the qualifying times this afternoon. We wondered if it would just go ahead for this evening so we thought we might go up later.

So we read the Saturday newspapers, I read another magazine that I picked up in the laundry; we relaxed a little by the pool (which is still freezing!) Andy played a little more Solitaire and I played a little more Sudoku.

The weird thing about the brain training is that I sat and did some exercises this afternoon and then did another brain age check, the score was much improved from this morning, it was right back to 42, and great things are looking up. So anyway I did more Sudoku and more brain training, then I did another brain age check and then my brain age went right up to 63, things aren’t perhaps looking up after all!

Late afternoon came and we decided not to head back out to see if the Drag Racing was on after all, we enjoyed lazing around and just doing bits and pieces that needed doing, so after a very light tea we had a game of cards.

I started to lose badly, I was not even playing well, I don’t mind losing if I am playing well. The cards were not in my favour tonight. Andy came up with one good hand after another, I also think he has been learning some new tactics. We played about 8 games and I was hanging on by a mere thread (13), then things looked up for me, I managed to win a game which brought Andy’s score down from 100 to 46 in one easy go, then as luck would have it the next game I won and Andy was left holding cards that totalled 70 points so that makes me the winner of tonight’s match. Not bad for a poor start.

We played a few more hands and then finally at 10.00 it was time for bed. It was warmer tonight than it was last night. We both went to sleep fairly quickly.

Catch up tomorrow for hopefully a far more interesting day.


Advertisement



19th July 2009

Fantastic trucks
Hiya. Oh, if only.......if only I could get to drive just one of those magnificient machines......just sitting in one or being taken for a trip just would not be the same.......Are there any truck driving jobs over there for a one legged ex truck driver? I can dream can't I......Dad x
20th July 2009

If Only !!
Hiya, We were in a news agents yesterday, ad I was flicking through the magazines whilst Caroline was getting a Birthday card and found a mag that was called Kenworth, obviously soley dedicated to Kenworth Trucks. Some of then were just mind blowing, yet I dought that this farther and son who both had Custom trucks his in Red and the sons in Blue really used them for logging, even the cradle trailers were custom paintd and probably have never seen a log on it ever. All the pictures we have taken were somewhere on our travels, we were at the traffics lights the other day and a Kenworth was turning right and by the time he got throught the lights for us had changed, he was pulling 3 Number 40 ft trailers. Our equation on the lenght would be this 3x40 ft 120 ft. 2x drawbar length at around 5 ft =10ft 1 x lenght of th tractor unit minus the distance up to the 5th wheel (so lenth of tractor unit from front radiator to the front of the 5th wheel 25 ft (Guess) Overall 155 ft or 46 mtrs, no wonder the lanes are wider over here, or the would never be able to turn at a junction.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0873s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb