Batchelor & Litchfield


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Batchelor
May 29th 2017
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: -13.0505, 131.031

Sunday we took a short 40 km drive to Berry Springs. This is a thermal pool for swimming and was opened on the Saturday after clearing out the crocs. Guess we were the guinea pigs!! After seeing crocs jump I just shut my eyes and took a leap into the water like a flying whale. Nat said "I saw a sign that says no swimming as you may get sick with gastro" Shit too bad my head went under and I was brushing the water out of my eyes. Gastro & Crocs.....yeah who's idea was it to swim here. DAVID!!!!
Well we arrived in Batchelor on Monday 29th. No gastro in sight yet. Lots of burn off happening and the park was full of smoke. Set up camp, lovely spot and settled in for the day.
Tuesday saw us heading out to Litchfield NP. We decided to take our bathers and go to the fartherest spots first. 1st stop, Bamboo Creek Tin Mine we were greeted by a goanna. Nice spot but they did it tough in those days. 2nd stop was Walker Creek, again a nice spot everything here is a 2 - 4 km return walk and at midday and 33 degrees its very hard going. No swim yet.
3rd stop was the Cascades, another 2.4 km return walk (nope I didn't do it). Lower Cascades closed (crocs) so off we went to see Wangi Falls (swimming). Lovely spot but still closed for swimming (crocs). 4th stop was Tolmer Falls, lookout only no swimming (no crocs) protected bats!! So I wore my bathers (mamil) (middle aged mum in lycra) for hours and sweated my ar.e off without swimming.
Wednesday... David had to take the car to Darwin again....Fu...ng Mazda more money. Jen, Nat and I decided to see the last few falls before leaving here. After the disappointment of Tuesday we decided to not wear bathers. Darn it we just can't get it right. The Buley Waterhole was fabulous and great for swimming...No we were not going to skinny dip. Florence falls was a short drive but bloody hell 150 steps straight down the side of the mountain (I call them goat tracks). Yep down we went and the falls were great and again great for swimming (NO BATHERS), but I knew we had to go back up. The sign said a 1 km walk to somewhere or take the stairs. The walk was looking pretty good but I got out voted and up we went. At least I made it to write this blog. The termite mounds were amazing and the pics don't do them justice. At 5' 1"(sorry all you metric lovers) I do look short.
Pack up tomorrow and off we go to Daly River.



Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



31st May 2017

Take that Latrine bucket and empty it then come back and get me a Beer.
31st May 2017

Such a beautiful spot!
31st May 2017

Wow, so clear!
31st May 2017

Now I know you do climb stairs, offices are now going back upstairs!!
31st May 2017

Everything is taller than you
31st May 2017

Now.... Where did you say that Snake was?

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb