Welcome to Alice Springs


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Alice Springs
August 29th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

cute art workcute art workcute art work

at a roadhouse on the way to Alice
On Sunday afternoon I hopped on another bus and drove down through the middle of Australia past Tennant Creek and finished up in Alice Springs the next morning. It was a really long journey and once again I didn't sleep much.

I was picked up and taken to the hostel where I stayed and waited until my room was ready. The hostel has a dog name Roy roy and he was my buddy all morning sitting down at my feet and loving the attention I was giving him.

Once I was able to check in I put my stuff in my room and headed off into the town center. First stop, the post office. On my way I met quite a few aboriginals who might look a bit scary but they just wanted to say good morning haha.

I found the mall and had lunch at Subway before deciding to head over to the Reptile house which has snakes and lizards on display that inhabit the area. For $12 it was actually really great. I really like lizards! They also had a little talk about all the reptiles and let us all hold some of them. I got to hold a blue tongue lizard, a bearded dragon and a HUGE python.

I'm starting to really like pythons. I think it's because I know they wont bite me and if they do their venom wont kill me. Haha. But the feel of a snake is such a cool feeling. My other favorites are the bearded dragons and the thorny devils. Thorny devils just look so cool yet their spikes aren't even more rubbery then spiky.

I spent the rest of the afternoon packing a small bag to take on my tour to Uluru the next day and was in bed early as I had an early start the next day. Oh and everyone told me that Alice isn't a very safe place to wander around at night or alone so best I just stay in haha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0304s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb