Your one stop shop for liquor, groceries, and clothing (And it's not walmart.)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
May 28th 2012
Published: May 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Grocery #1 73 secs
My highlight of the day was visiting an Australian mall. You ask why? Well, not because I bought anything, but because it has 2 grocery stores in the mall. You won't find that back home. People come from all over the world to see the Mall of America...they should start coming to Australia because you can get your groceries here.

Another interesting thing I noted about the food in Australia, specifcially, subway, was the difference in meants/ingredients sold. Subway here has beets, and lamb as option for meat (well, beets for vegeterians.) Also, shredded carrots come as a veggie option. The cheese offered...Old English instead of American. I was so fascinated with the subway differences that I might have questioned the subway employee with question after question of differences and why this and why that? Maybe I sounded like a little kid asking questions. But, hey, I'm just a curious traveler!

Speaking of little kids, we were able to visit our child care centers for the first time today. We met our supervisors at Southern Cross University and got a quick orientation of our 5 week program. I'm more than thrilled to be working in the center where Kelly
Child centerChild centerChild center

Here's my center!
and I are placed. We are the first Stout students to be placed in Goonellabah (I just spelt that right for the first time!) Nestle In Child Care Center. The center itself has been around less than a year, and it's still being finished. I will be working in the Turtles and Whales room (4 and 5 year olds). There's also a baby room and toddler room.

Today I also found my way into the Goonellabah Sports and Aquaitc Center and got my free one week membership! I'm very happy to hear that they have my favorite.....(Drum roll please...) ZUMBA CLASSES! Australian style zumba...hmm! It will be bloody (Yes, I'm using Aussie slang!) great.

Tomorrow marks the first full day with the Turtle and Whale Goonellabah kiddos. This will be full of adventure and messes, bring it on mates.

Advertisement



28th May 2012

Fascinating!
Wonderful photo of you at the child care center. You look GREAT. Enjoyed the trip around the mall with our 'hot dish' guide. Don't overdo it at the 'bloody' ZUMBA class. Have lots of fun with that though. Oh, that Moroccan lamb Subway sandwich looks so good. I can't say the same about beets or carrots. Have a SUPER full first day with the Turtle and Whale Goonellabah kiddos. They will adore you for sure. Love, grandma and grandpa

Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb