farm life....New Year's Eve


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
December 31st 2006
Published: January 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Stewart and His $1000 CockStewart and His $1000 CockStewart and His $1000 Cock

this is before the operation
Dad had been going on about "the farm" for over 6 months and i had been informed of the blow by blow account of the trials and tribulations of obtaining the property, which is in bungonia about 20 minutes shy of Goulbourne as you are heading south.

I knocked off work and spent the night at dad's place in Robertson and we headed down to Bungonia in the morning....in the ute, not less. We tumbled out of the rolling pastures of the Southern Highlands and sped down the Hume to the parchment that this famous draught is written on. Draught is mute and the ute is the only sound that punctuates this ride. I talk to Dad about cows and medicine wilst sucking on thhe "Hacks" that Mum brought back from Malaysia. Dad says it's the British offloading their shit onto the stupid subjects who become nostalgically attached to the taste of it. I too have become nostalgically attached to this "hacks" clattering itself against the insides of my teeth.
I remember I was eating a "hacks" in class when the teacher told me to stand up and read aloud and I had to swallow the whole thing. I was
the final touchesthe final touchesthe final touches

dad's best patient. the poor chook has somehting obstructing it's crop - probably a gum leaf: and dad did a minor op to empty out the crop which had swollen to the size a tenis ball but was not letting anything pass on to the gizzard. Stewart was going to do this country style without the anaesthetic!
so sad that I had lost my "hacks".
Don't worry Dad we've got a whole bag of hacks here.
The road is dirt now. I get that dirt road feeling and and start to back down from a few city folk notions like worrying if the car is dirty or my fly is undone. Dad is explaining to me how you go about buying cows.
Russell helped us buy the cows. We didn't know what to do but Russell went with us and we used him to transport the cows to the farm.
Is he your neighbour?
No Stewart and Rodney are.
Are they nice?
Yeh, they're nice old men. Stewart's very fit. He runs around the paddock chasing the cows. Rodney's a bit sick though. They're brothers.
Oh. Have they been there long?
About 20 years.
Stewart and...?
Rodney. We reach a T intersection and Dad asks,
right or left?
Right
Right!? that will take us to Goulbourne!
Left!
See this is the bridge and that's Benduck Rd.
The road clears and I see the white gates to "THE FARM" TAAAAAA DAAAAAA!!!! I have to get out and open the gate. dad drives through and I shut the gate.
white goodswhite goodswhite goods

here is my booty collected from Stewarts farm. A white peacock feather, one white rooster feather and some fresh milk straight from his cow.....moooo. See! I'm a farm girl already!
this is farm life. open the gate shut the gate. We head up hill past the "cottage" to the "Big House"




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

me 'n' dad at the "cottage"me 'n' dad at the "cottage"
me 'n' dad at the "cottage"

frankly the cottage is something out of a stephen King novel. i love it,
a lovely portraita lovely portrait
a lovely portrait

Stewart's two grand nephews and the chook that's about to get it.
the beaststhe beasts
the beasts

Every wanted to know what a "belted gallowway" was but were afraid to ask?


26th January 2007

luvvit luv! when can we come and hoe out the ewes or whatever youcallit.xx

Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0891s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb