A BUNCH OF FLOWERS IN GIRONA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Wamberal
May 17th 2012
Published: May 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Girona is a nice city located in the north-east part of Spain. And I'm not saying it's a nice city just because it's my hometown! I really think it is and many people think so! It has a fantastic old part of the city and you can still see Roman roads and really antique churches, cathedrals and houses.

Every May in the city we have a special event called "Girona, temps de flors" ("Girona, flower time").

During this festival, the monuments of the city and courtyards are adorned with floral decorations as installation art pieces, which are opened to visitors. They are accompanied by light and water and picturesque, sculptural and musical settings. Some of the flowers have to be replaced every now and then otherwise then don't last for the whole exhibition.

There is a competition to see who made the best and most original composition.

Last year I was there with my Aussie boyfriend and he liked it a lot! I was so proud to show him my city full of flowers! I think it's really impressive!

This year the exhibiton is from the 12th to the 20th of May and it's the 57th time it´s been held. I can't go this year but my brother and my sister-in-law went there and sent some pictures to me. Have a look!

If you plan to go to Girona, May is a good time to go!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb