Back in New South


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Tocumwal
March 24th 2010
Published: March 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The chef preparing lunchThe chef preparing lunchThe chef preparing lunch

While I cook the muffins outside
Somehow we resisted the urge in Mansfield to head for a country clothing store, kit ourselves in RM Williams elastic-sided boots, moleskins, shirt and Akubra hat and head for the high country. I can always see myself riding across the mountains on a sure-footed horse, sitting by the campfire reciting poems by Banjo Pattterson at night. Of course, I couldn't stay on a horse or light a fire and only know the first and second verse of some of Banjo's poems so commonsense prevailed and we continued our motor home travelling. Instead I'll aquaint myself with more of the high country life when the country comes to the city for the Easter Show.

The countryside from Mansfield is very green, cattle and sheep look healthy, dams and haysheds are full. It was so pleasant being surrounded by such beautiful country. We stopped at Benalla by the lake for lunch. I've been wanting to try cooking muffins again in the Baby Q barbeque after my not-so-great attempt when we were doing the big lap. This time I have the little cast iron muffin tin that Jules gave me so I took out the flour, butter, etc. and filled the little heart-shaped
Ta da! here they areTa da! here they areTa da! here they are

Slightly pale on top but nice!
tins - cooking outside the motor home by the banks of the lake. This time they came out ok, quite delicious in fact, though they don't brown as well in the bbq.

It became dryer country from Benalla - we were on the very straight road that leads to Tocomwal. At Tocomwal we crossed the Murray River and we were back in New South Wales. Along the river, at town beach which is a sandy bend of the river, many campers had set up for a night or two of free camping, however, the highway was just across the other side and we didn't fancy the nightly roar of trucks. So we pulled into the Big 4 on a nice quiet grassy site - the only ones here apart from many pink and grey galahs on the lawn. While Doug had a walk around town, I swam in the caravan park pool. I know Tocumwal well as I spent a lot of time walking around the town over the years when Doug was calling on clients here. Lovely sunny hot days still .. hooray!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Roses!Roses!
Roses!

Every garden we've seen lately has prolific roses


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb