So Long, Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
December 17th 2016
Published: December 17th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I am now in Cairns, which is about a 3 hour flight north of Sydney.

After the roommate debacle the first night in Sydney, I was excited as the second room seemed much calmer. To keep a long story short, I had a young girl from West Virginia in my room who woke up with a start, with no pants on (zero anything actually) stumbled down from the bunk above me and vomited in the shower. She then stumbled back in rambling about needing to find her way to Perth. Mo yelled at her for being rude when her phone went off which opened Pandora's box. She was screaming at him for up to an hour. He left to get the front desk person and I talked her down. I also talked her out of breaking Mos iPad and told her it was mine. The night ended with her calling me a dumb ass and that I'm uneducated (this is because I said we should go to bed mind you lol) After falling asleep finally, a bout a half hour later she fell off the top bunk, sat dazed, then got up and ran out of the room. There were a lot of ledges to fall from at this hostel, so I followed her out to bring her back in. Mo told me it wasn't my problem and to let her go, which is true, but I didn't want to see her get hurt from one night of dumb (very, very dumb) decisions, even if I was super tired and she called me an uneducated dumb ass ?. Anyways , she ended up in bed safe that night and probably felt awful in the am, remembering none of it.

I spent the day wandering around Bondi Beach. It was rainy and overcast, but it actually ended up being a nice break from the heat and humidity. I went to Jacques favorite book store Gertrude and Alice and it was really cool. There were new and used books filling the store from top to bottom with piles everywhere. I got a new book and headed out. They also sold coffee and small brunch plates, but I was afraid I'd start a domino effect of the books in the tiny shop with my backpack and took my leave!

After I headed down to the beach and walked the length of it. I dipped my feet in the water, watched the surfers and took in the views. It was very beautiful and the sand was a lot finer than at home. It feels a lot better under your feet. After, I walked up to the rooftop bar/restaurant and had lunch with a view of the water. I like to sit and people watch while taking in the views. Then it was time to head to the airport. 2 nice men gave me a hat at the airport because they said I would burn in Cairns. On the plane, I got my own row all to my self. I laid down, had a glass of wine and listened to an audiobook. ?

Cairns is beautiful and very different from Sydney. It is much smaller and seems to have less of a business professional feel and more of a happy, relaxed vibe. Everyone is super nice here. I upgraded at the hostel to have my own room. $50 difference for the 3 nights. I realized I'm too old to room with this drunk youngsters and find myself wanting to give them lectures on life lessons and their self worth. Umm, when did I become my dad? "If I could have all that time and money back...." (love you, little dad ?) Anyways, best $50 I ever spent 😊


I spent the first night in Cairns getting situated. I'm staying across from the mall and had a few things I needed to replenish such as shampoo, conditioner, etc. I went to the Target which is very different and much smaller here. For example, there were like 4 purses to chose from and no food/drinks, etc. I got some dinner and turned in to bed to prepare for my Australian bday!

Will update on my bday adventures soon!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb