Just call me Darling!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 10th 2015
Published: April 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!

Darling Harbour
xxJust call me darling



Friday 10th April

Waking up to a sunny morning in Sydney, Caroline slipped out of bed to make a cup of tea, it was lovely and relaxing to laze around, nobody was out of bed too early so we didn't feel too guilty. We eventually got up after doing a bit of blogging in bed, we were at Jan and Teddy’s residence and we managed to drag our backsides out of bed and made an appearance for breakfast.

Jan, Ted, Glen and Bon were all in the process of getting up and ready for the day. Tea was in abundance, toast was doing in the toaster, I am a real sucker when it comes to Marmalade, I just love it!!.

Over breakfast we came up with a plan that we would get the Rivercat from Rydalmere down the Parramatta River to Sydney, we have done this trip before, but this time we planned to get off in Darling Harbour. Caroline and I have not been to Darling Harbour since 13th January 2011.

How can I be so specific on this date, will that is easy, this was the only time
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!

The Rydalmere Ferry
that Caroline and myself have ever travelled together on business to the same place and this day we both travelled to Sydney, but sadly I cannot reveal the details around this trip.

What I can say was that we were booked to fly home to Canberra together at the end of the day but we decided to extend our time in Sydney and we would extend our trip by a simple phone call to our companies internal travel coordinator and instead of flying back on the Friday night we arranged to come back on Sunday afternoon and we would pay for the hotel.

I also remember the trip for other reasons as I brought Caroline a new camera which is the one she is using at the moment and also a beautiful pair of ladies RM Williams boots.

Anyway back to the here and now, we had got ready ourselves for the ferry and but unfortunately Glen and Bon would not be coming with us and Bon was not feeling so bright and decided to stay at home.

We all jumped in the cars, Teddy went on his own as if we got back late he
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!

Jan and Ted Davis, enjoying the sunshine in Sydney
could go straight to work without having to drop us back as he was looking after the Bistro this evening while the owner was on holiday.

We arrived at the ferry terminal with minutes to spare and as we walked onto the gangway the Rivercat appeared under the bridge so we boarded the very large catamaran and took our seats, it would be 55 minutes to Darling Harbour as the Rivercat stops at every stop on the way.

We watched the scenery go past and soon we were looking at the looming Sydney Skyline, we could see the Harbour Bridge in all its splendour but the Opera house was hidden from view.

55 minutes was up and we disembarked at the ferry terminal we chose a direction and walked along in the sunshine, by now it was lunch time and Darling Harbour was exceptionally busy, everyone seemed to be taking a break from shopping or work and enjoying lunch, there were a lot of tourists, as we were, with so many places to choose from we eventually decided to stop at the Helm.

The upstairs was so busy and dare I say it, too noisy, we
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!

Cockatoo Island, Camp Just call me Darling!! area
thought we would try somewhere with less noise so that we could enjoy the sunshine and talk, but just as we were leaving a young lady grabbed us and asked if she could help, we told her it was too noisy upstairs and obviously being very keen to keep the clientele happy, she directed us to the beer garden downstairs.

We all only wanted a lite lunch, as we knew Jan was cooking tonight, so we all picked just what we fancied and soon were diving in to our lunch washed down with a beer and a wine, which was yum.

After lunch we wandered for the rest of the afternoon around the bits and pieces of Darling Harbour, we saw a giant inflatable octopus sat on top of a submarine, a few things have changed since we were here last and there was still plenty of building work going on. Eventually we walked back over the Pymont Bridge and back to the ferry terminal where we caught the 4.25 ferry back to Rydalmere.

This time we did not have a large Rivercat, it was a smaller catamaran and the rush hour was beginning, we all wedged
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!

Cockatoo Island this was an old submarine base I beleive
ourselves onto the boat, every seat was taken inside so the four of us found our way outside at the back and ended up sitting outside, just before the rain started we found a seat inside and took shelter. We had been lucky with the weather today so we mustn't grumble.

We arrived back at about 5.30 then a 20 minute squirt back to Jan and Teds with very achy feet and ready to relax.

Beers and wines were the order of the evening as it was Beer-o-Clock and Jan very gracefully soon had our evening meal prepared which was a lovely lasagne and salad it which went down a treat.

As usual we were not late to bed as it had been a very busy day which we thoroughly enjoyed, we were both fast asleep as soon as our heads hit the pillow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

Darling Harbour!!
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

This Octopus was squatting on this submarine
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

The Sydney Skyline
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

Over the Bridge and far away
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

Darling Harbour
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

Darling Harbour
Just call me Darling!!Just call me Darling!!
Just call me Darling!!

Do we really have to tell you what this Bridge is???


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb