I Left My Heart In San Francisco, And My Phone In A Sydney Taxi


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 2nd 2013
Published: June 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

With my time quickly running out in Australia, I was already starting to draft my final blog. The first sentence was "I made it an entire year without getting pick-pocketed, losing my wallet, or losing my phone!". Sadly, I just had to delete that sentence, as my iPhone is currently in the back of some random taxi in Sydney. Friday night, my friend and I went to go see Vivid, which is this huge show where they project lights on all of the major buildings in downtown Sydney while blasting music everywhere. It's huge and it felt like all of Australia was gathered in Sydney. My friend Lexie and I tried catching a bus from school to the place where our cruise was going to take off, but didn't account for all of the people that would also be going to see Vivid, and had to take a taxi. Normally when I take taxis, I always double check a million times to make sure I have everything, because one of my friends in China lost his iPhone and his really nice camera in the back of a Shanghai cab, and ever since then I've been really paranoid that I would lose my phone too. Unfortunately, I must not have checked well enough, because as soon as our taxi had pulled away, I realized my iPhone was still in the back! I just can't believe that with just over a week to go, out of being abroad for almost 365 days, I lost my phone. This morning I called and emailed all 15 cab companies in Sydney and hopefully one of them will find it, but I'm starting to come to terms that I'll be using my old flip phone until next Christmas when I can buy myself a new phone.

There are no pictures on this blog because they are all on my iPhone, so if we could all just take a moment of silence to remember my iPhone on this tragic day, it would be much appreciated. I don't think I really realized how much I've come to rely on my iPhone, even though I'm using a pay-as-you-go phone here in Sydney (ironically I had that with me in the cab too but I still have that one with me today). All of my flashcards were on my iPhone, as well as my shopping list and my teachers' emails and contact information from China. I also no longer have an alarm clock, which could prove slightly problematic. Another blog will be coming soon, but for now I am just too heartbroken to write anymore.

Advertisement



3rd June 2013

Pausing for a moment of silence....
.....
3rd June 2013

Huge bummer
That's awful. Feel your pain.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb