Day 36 - Our last full day of our adventure (Tuesday 15 January)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 15th 2013
Published: January 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Surf's Up! at Manly beachSurf's Up! at Manly beachSurf's Up! at Manly beach

but just a little wave from the big Pacific ocean
My bites kept me awake and at 3:30 am I took an antihistamine tablet. As a result when I woke at 8:30 am I didn't know what day it was. Don says I am a cheap druggie! My hero went out and found some coffee and toast. We decided that we would enjoy the sun and take a ferry to Manly.

This is an expensive coastal area on the north shore of Sydney harbour. We walked through the pedestrian mall to the beach. I found a nice shady spot to finish my book and Don went for a walk and had a paddle. The surf was quite good but the life guards were warning people that a shark had been sighted and that they should stay within the safe area. However, people were ignoring the lifeguards. Now I know why some people have kids - to raise them as shark bait!

Don found Ben & Jerry's and we had an ice cream for lunch.

Then back to the hotel. We had a heavy date tonight. So we finished last night's dinner (which we had brought back) and got ready for a night at the opera. We went to see 'La Bohème' at the Sydney opera house. What a tear jerker and what a production. We had centre stage seats in the stalls. The concierge at the hotel did us proud.

Coming back to the hotel the area was devoid of masses of people, the harbour was lit up and it felt safe walking along. At last I understand why Don likes Sydney so much.

A perfect end to a perfect vacation.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb