Off I Go Again!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 22nd 2012
Published: August 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


On Sunday I am flying out for 6 weeks in Canada and the USA. The plan is to write another travel blog with plenty of photos that I hope you will enjoy. To start off, I thought I would give a brief rundown of my itinerary.



I arrive in Vancouver on the same day I leave Sydney, changing planes in L.A. on the way. Unfortunately, due to a scheduling error early in my planning, I am only spending the night in Vancover before catching the Rocky Mountaineer to Banff via Kamloops.



I will have most of the day to look around Banff before I catch a bus to Calgary. I am staying the night there because I have an early flight in the morning to Quebec City, changing planes again in Toronto. I will have the rest of the day and most of the next to see the city before catching a late train to Montreal. First thing in the morning I board a bus to Boston.



I am staying two nights in Boston before I pick up a hire car for the long drive down the east coast. But the drive south begins with a couple of days heading west (and a little north) to Niagara Falls. I will be catching up with some friends near Albany, NY before heading to the Falls via Saratoga and Fort Ticonderoga. While at Niagara, I will be catching up with some friends who live in Toronto.



Then I begin the long journey south by driving through Pennsylvania to Gettysburg, Valley Forge and Amish country. After a small detour into New Jersey to visit Trenton, where George Washington famously crossed the Delaware on Christmas night 1776, I visit Philadelphia before heading to Washington DC.



I am staying in Washington for four nights before heading into Virginia to visit Jamestown, Williamsburg, Yorktown and Richmond. After that I embark upon a long drive over a few days through North and South Carolina and Georgia, visiting historic sites such as Guilford Courthouse, Cowpens and Savannah. The drive finishes in Orlando, FL where I will be visiting the Kennedy Space Centre.



I drop off the car in Orlando before flying to Las Vegas. Hopefully I will avoid having my own version of the Hangover movie by going on some tours to the Grand Canyon and Hoover Dam. While in Vegas I will be seeing a Penn & Teller magic show and I plan on visiting one of the gun ranges there to see what the fuss is.



After 4 nights in Vegas, I pick up another hire car to drive through the desert to Sequoia National Park and then to L.A. I fly out from there to Hawaii, spending the first night in Honolulu before flying to the big island of Hawaii. While there I am going on a twilight tour to the top of Mauna Kea where some of the largest telescopes in the world are. I will also be going on a tour of the island, including a visit to a volcano. On my last day I will be having a look around from a helicopter before flying back to Honolulu (not on a helicopter). The next day I fly home to Sydney, arriving back in the evening of Saturday the 6th of October.

Advertisement



23rd August 2012

Comment
Looks like a fantastic trip David. Have a great time we are very jealous! :)

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb