Back To Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 13th 2006
Published: April 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

SydneySydneySydney

Somewhere in Sydney...
And life goes round full circle. Or at least my journey has. Back to Sydney, and back to a crappy and overcast day. After a lunch in Chinatown I decided to wander round paddys market and purchase some souveniers. People claim that you can buy anything in Paddys, but this is clearly a lie. There are 4 types of shops, each manned by a limited english speaking asian. The shop types are (curiously): Tacky Wig shop, Tacky Souvenier Shops, Tacky Jewellry Shops , Tacky electronic/counterfeit DVD shops. Having spent a small (and I mean VERY small) fortune on souveniers I headed across town to the Sydney Fish Market.

I loved Tokyos fish market, and I expected something similar in Sydney, but this was not the case. Firstly health and safety is obviously taken a lot more seriously in Australia. Secondly the market isnt running. Some of the resellers around the outside of the market were open, and all of the restaurants were busy and bustling, but the wholesale market was nowhere to be seen. I did my research and found it was much too late in the day to see the wholesale market, and that the auction only runs until 07:00. And being Lazy as they are the Australians aren't having another market until tuesday.

So I went to plan B - Bondi Beach. But it was pissing down, so I went to plan C - the powerhouse museum. The museum had a strange and eclectic mix of hands on exhibits, from TV history to Kylie's dresses; from antique musical instruments to asian furniture. After the powerhouse I was lucky enough to stumble upon a free didge concert at darling harbour, which gave time for some relaxation before I headed up to Kings Cross and its mix of Bookies, Strip Clubs, Restaurants and Bars.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



15th April 2006

Not eaten yet?
Hey Alex, Glad to see that you haven't been accidently identified as food by a shark yet. We stayed in Kings Cross, and walked by that fountain you have a picture of every day! Its a very dodgy area. Hope your still enjoying your time out there, To the Mengers! Duncan (and Lucy xx)

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 17; qc: 87; dbt: 0.1469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb