Lions, Tigers and Koalas, oh my!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
October 26th 2009
Published: November 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lions, Tigers, Koalas oh my! All of the wildlife that exists in Australia is also contained in the Taronga Zoo. We are not really site-seers for zoos, but it was really impressive.

You can take a quick ferry boat ride from Cirqular Quay to the Taronga Zoo. After being dropped off you just see trees and tons of a lot of green vegetation. We took the cable car to the top of the mountain after checking in to be able to walk down the hill and see the animals.

The first animals you come accross (or at least the ones we were interested in) were the koalas. The koalas have their own exhibit and house several trees where they usually just sleep and walk around. We were told that when we arrived they are almost always sleeping and today was no different. After walking around the exhibit there were several koalas.

After the koala exhibit we walked upon the giraffes. They were mighty tall with extremely long beautiful eyelashes. They liked to eat leaves from the trees and pretty much wanted to eat their keeper's hat.

The lions and tigers were so close in their exhibit that you could touch them. Fortunately there was a layer of glass between us! The lions were roaring and you could feel the glass shake it was so loud and powerful. The tigers on the other hand were separated because they are normally like that in the wild.

If you ever get a chance to visit this zoo, you should, it was amazing and my few short words don't even capture everything.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Check out my tongue!Check out my tongue!
Check out my tongue!

Check out the tongue on the giraffe on the left. That was only half of it!
Tiger oh my!Tiger oh my!
Tiger oh my!

Thank goodness there is glass between us!
Waiting for my meat...Waiting for my meat...
Waiting for my meat...

The tiger waiting for his lunch...
King of the jungleKing of the jungle
King of the jungle

I am king of the jungle or at least this place!
On the go!On the go!
On the go!

A wallabee or koala on the go. Not sure which one, but it was fast!


Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1221s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb