Back in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 20th 2009
Published: September 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The TubeThe TubeThe Tube

The oldest and deepest underground rail system in the world and my good friend on Wednesday when avoiding the rain!
Its hard to believe but today I am typing this blog entry from my home in Dee Why. Incredibly five weeks has flown by so quickly and tomorrow I am faced with the prospect of going back to work.

On Thursday night I went out for dinner with Paul and Mark, a kind of farewell I guess. We went to Cóte at Tower Bridge. Dinner was disappointing and so too the service but it was nice to go out with my brother and his partner Mark again before flying back to Australia.

My week has been quite uneventful by choice. I stayed down in Kent with my friends Mick and Sal and used the few days as an opprtunity to wind-down.

On Friday I awoke bright eyed and bushy tailed and jumped on the early morning train from Maidstone to London Victoria and from there onto Empire Square South and my brother’s place where I would chill out until I headed to Paddington Station and onto Heathrow for the evening flight home.

Its about now you are likely to ask “…so what was your favourite place?”

I’d have to say the most interesting city visited would
The City of WestiminsterThe City of WestiminsterThe City of Westiminster

Have I got that right? Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Westiminster Abbey are all part of the City of Westminster
be Berlin with its ultra modern architecture, its history and a vibrancy that I would never have expected. Regrettably I never ate a curry wurst and this will live with me for a long time (actually that’s a lie, I don’t really think I’ll regret not eating a sausage with ketchup and curry sauce!)

The least favourite city would have to be Prague and that’s not because the city isnt interesting it was my experience with the tourist throng, the cheap souvenir shops and rip off merchants. The Jewish quarter is the only gem in this dusty run down city.

I will always love visiting Barcelona and of course London was as great as it always is and I thought the beaches of Sardinia were quite beautiful. Ireland was great for other reasons (most notably connecting with my cousins).

Oh and my favourite eating house? La Bombeta in Barcelona by miles. The freshness of the seafood tapas was matched by the quality and honesty of staff. If you ever go to Barcelona make sure you search this place out. Just don't let the secret out as we dont want too many tourists turning up!!

So whats
London EyeLondon EyeLondon Eye

With more than 3 million visitors a year this is one of London's newest tourist attractions
next for me? Well firstly its back to work and before that ironing a shirt, emptying my suitcase and doing a wash (in no particular order) So where would I like to go next? I'd say South America would be on the cards, as would Antarctica strangely enough but its way too early for thoughts of a new holiday. Its the 6.30am bus to the city tomorrow morning and the sound of my alarm will no doubt shock me into gear. Sigh!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Galician OctopusGalician Octopus
Galician Octopus

Sweet warm octopus dusted with papriki. I enjoyed this at Tierra Brindisa in Soho (I am getting hungry again just looking at this photo!)
Paul and MarkPaul and Mark
Paul and Mark

Drinks before dinner at Cote on Thursday night


20th September 2009

welcome back
Welcome back to reality Christopher!

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb