Australian Idol!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
September 4th 2009
Published: September 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Pub CrawlPub CrawlPub Crawl

Just a picture of me, Kerry, Sarah, and Claire before the pub crawl. We couldn't take any at Aussie Idol :(
It's been a while- this week I had a paper, presentation, and test so I haven't been up to a lot. I did, however, go to Australian Idol on Sunday! The girls across the hall went the Thursday before, but none of them could go on Sunday, so we took their free passes. Claire, Sarah, Little Jackie and I got all dressed up and left around 4. The studio is inside this Sydney Entertainment center... it has the equestrian center, a football or rugby stadium, the Fox studio, and a few restaurants and bars.

After waiting outside for maybe half an hour, we finally got inside. We were seated on the aisle of the center section, in the second row behind the judges. Eventually they had us move down into the reserved seating section, so we were pretty sure we'd be on tv. There was some chubby guy in a way too tight t shirt trying to amp us all up and make us laugh. We ended up just laughing at him. As it got closer to the start, they tested the lights and the mics, and the emcee came out to entertain us/tell us the rules .

The executive producer came out to get us to clap when the show started each time after commercials. There were six people already through to the final 12. The results came in from the voting, and two more joined the final 12. The judges then had to pick 9 to perform right then and there as wild cards, and Australia is voting this week for who they liked most. 2 will get in from the votes, and the other two are chosen from the judges. The performances were really good! The lights were really bright though, so I probably looked like I was crying. However, our friends that were watching for us said we were never shown- weird camera angles I guess. It was still a lot of fun.

The weekend before that was just a pub crawl up to the Rocks, which is the first place that was founded in Sydney. My mom comes in exactly two weeks from today, and I'm suuuper excited! I will finally be able to go out to eat! Kangaroo, here I come! We're also going to explore more of Sydney. I can't wait!

Random note- my roommate had two friends of her's stay over two nights ago, and one of them took my toothpaste. Who does that??

Advertisement



10th September 2009

Aussie Idol
Wow! That's so cool you got to go to the live show! Sounds like a blast. I am very jealous. Hey, did you know Ellen Degeneris is going to be the new American Idol judge!? How sweet. Sorry my internet connection has been shitty lately. I'll talk to you probably once recruitment is over. It can't come soon enough.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb