The Blue Mountains and Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 3rd 2009
Published: March 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Fireworks on Labor day 93 secs
2: A little bit of my abseiling 5 secs
3: a little more abseiling 17 secs
Sydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue Mountains

The 3 sisters rock formation
This weekend I went to sydney and the blue mountains. I flew into sydney on Thursday and then took a train to my hostel. The next morning I got up early and took a 2 hour train to the blue mountains where the adventure began. Here I took a tour where we aberseiled (known as repelling in the US) downcliffs at different heights. We started with a 5m section followed by a 10m and 30m cliff. The 30m cliff we were able to do a few time (i did it 4). It was more tiring climbing back up than it was coming down. The craziest part was my first try at going down the 30m one. I was getting ready to repel; I sat back into the line, took a step back and when i shifted my weight my feet slipped on the carpet and i fell backwards. I found myself hanging upside down 30m in the air. The first thing i did was laugh...I stayed calm, flipped myself right side up and repelled down. When I got back to the top, where everyone else in the tour was standing (all guys), they couldn't believe that I laughed instead of freaking
SydneySydneySydney

a cable car to the top
out. It was an experience that i will rememeber forever. I don't have any pictures of this just 2 short videos because the guy I asked to take photos switched it to video and only got 2 videos but this was after I fell. After this we had some lunch before we went canyoning. Canyoning is when you get in a wet suit and go walking/hiking through the water in the canyons. I didn't get any photos here either because my camera wasn't waterproof. Through this 3 hour adventure you climbed over rocks, swam through chest high water, and jumped off cliffs into the below water. It was amazing. At the end we abseiled down katoomba falls which is about 30-40m high. The views throughout were amazing. I have 1 picture of the falls that isn't that good, but the memories will be there forever.

That evening I returned to the city and just relaxed from all of the exercise I had just had. The next day was Mardi Gras in Sydney. There was a big party in the city and a parade. It was the famous gay and lesbian pardade. We ended up getting a perfect spot along
Sydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue Mountains

my view from the 30m cliff
the rail on a bend where the parade was coming straight towards us. I met up with a friend from england, Sian, and some of her friends. I met her on a weekend trip I booked the second week I got here.

The next day I checked my bags in at the airport and then another friend of mine picked me up and we went out to Bondi Beach. This is the famous beach in sydney but recently has had 3 shark attacks...Don't worry it was cloudy and raining on and off I didn't get in. haha The beach didnt' look like anything special, maybe because I was rainy not to sure. Then I got back on the plane and came back to Melbourne.

The next day was labour (thats how they spell it here) day here. I went to watch the fireworks downtown. There was a carnival with a few spinny rides. The fireworks were over the yarra river which was nice because the ferris wheel was in the background, but Melbourne fireworks has nothing on Pittsburgh...haha

Everything else is going go here. At times I'm missing home but I come home in 6 WEEKS!!! I
Sydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue Mountains

my canyoning outfit with the hat and all
can't believe its gone so fast. I have a few weekends I have booked to travel. Out of my 6 weeks left I plan on going to a bushdoof (dance party in the bush), snorkeling in the great barrier reef, over to a national park, hike through the rainforest, Tassie, and back to the great ocean road. From the sounds of it guess I still have a busy 6 weeks left!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Sydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue Mountains
Sydney-Blue Mountains

now without the hat
Sydney-Blue MountainsSydney-Blue Mountains
Sydney-Blue Mountains

this is Watoomba falls...it might not look so big but look in the upper right hand corner. That is a person standing up there. We started up there.
SydneySydney
Sydney

random guy playing some eye of the tiger
Sydney- Mardi GrasSydney- Mardi Gras
Sydney- Mardi Gras

this is a man...haha
Sydney- Mardi Gras ParadeSydney- Mardi Gras Parade
Sydney- Mardi Gras Parade

Pump is a brand of water or flavored water here, simular to aquafina.
Sydney- Mardi Gras ParadeSydney- Mardi Gras Parade
Sydney- Mardi Gras Parade

the frenchies and lauren
Sydney- Mardi Gras ParadeSydney- Mardi Gras Parade
Sydney- Mardi Gras Parade

this was the dikes on bikes group
Sydney- Mardi Gras ParadeSydney- Mardi Gras Parade
Sydney- Mardi Gras Parade

This guy was gay...I went in to give him a kiss on the cheek and turned around and his lips were on mine...haha


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.025s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb