Back In Sydney!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
July 17th 2008
Published: July 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well I am back in Sydney after six years since my last visit. The city has changed quite a bit with new buildings popping up all over the place. I had a walk around the city and managed to find the youth hostel I used to stay in during my last visit way back in 2002. This time I opted to stay in the more action packed Kings Cross area for its active night life and entertainment. I met some really cool people and would often go out for beers around the city in the evenings.

During the day I walked through the Botanic Gardens and around the city. I visited the Sydney Opera House and walked across the Sydney Harbour Bridge. I then chilled out at Darling Harbour for a cup of tea (how British!) before heading out on the beers with some other travellers I met a few days ago. While out in Sydney we had the most amazing sunset behind the opera house and bridge, it was absolutely stunning. We took a few beers and sat in the park while watching the sun go down and then headed off into town for a night out.

Every evening I would watch the fruit bats fly across the skyline at sunset. One evening I went up the Observation Tower for the most spectacular view of the city. I often forget how large Sydney is until you view it from the tower. I spent a few hours up there just watching life in the big smoke. I could see a yacht race across the harbour while a storm descended over the city. It was quite funny watching all the yachts suddenly head for the piers.

I spent some time wondering around the shops of Sydney. You may as well be in New York with designer shops and jewellery stores everywhere. There are so many shops, it took me an entire day to wonder around looking at them, its a shoppers paradise! I can't believe how many new places have sprung up around Sydney and how clean the city centre is, although the public trains are still covered in graffiti which really needs sorting out!

Australia is much more expensive than I remember. I must be spending around forty pounds a day on average. The exchange rate with the pound is really poor (2AUD = 1GBP) which is causing me a few financial headaches. For example, a chocolate bar costs around one pound and a beer costs three pounds fifty. I think I will have to cut my time shorter than I would like in Australia otherwise I will be going home sooner than expected.

Its winter in Sydney at the moment so its quite cold. I can't believe I had to go out and buy a coat, although the other day could have been the equivalent to a British summers day. I quite like Sydney as a city, but Melbourne will always remain my favourite place in Australia. I'm heading back there in a few days because the Pope is descending upon Sydney for World Youth Day. The price of accommodation has doubled and there are more and more people arriving each day. People are beginning to sing in the streets, wave flags and read from the bible. The run up to World Youth Day is all becoming a bit too much for me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb