The Aussie Diaries: The Big Smoke


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
August 13th 2000
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sydney Harbor in the WinterSydney Harbor in the WinterSydney Harbor in the Winter

Apart from the Opera House, this was not the Australia I had been expecting.
I've been thrown back into winter. It gets dark around 5:30. It was raining today and it felt like London around late February or early March. It's weird. I don't even feel like I am in a foreign country. Like when I am in the United Kingdom or Ireland I am aware that I am a foreigner in a foreign land. But here in Sydney I feel like one of the crowd. There is also none of the reverent respect that one would give to the country of one's forbearers. But it is really strange to be all of a sudden in the midst of a "British Isles" winter. I feel like I'm back in Dublin in my own little traveling world. Hey, whatever.

Sydney really feels like a Big city, and I can't wait to get out. It seems to loose it's character when there are gray skies and the sun is covered up. The city seems like a cross between London and San Francisco or Seattle.

I also can't say this enough. There are a lot of Asians here. It seems like they comprise over a third of the people I see in the streets. They are
The RocksThe RocksThe Rocks

I had landed on the otherside of the Earth and was trying to figure it all out.
in all the service positions and as a result I have interacted with more Chinese than "Australians". It's great staying so close to the harbour and being able to walk by the Sydney Opera House on the way home. The harbour itself is smaller than I had thought it would be. Later.




Note: Let me take a moment to introduce you to the Aussie Diaries. They are a XX part series. These short entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-college adventure to the southern hemisphere. I was 22 and had no idea about what I wanted to do with my life. I had decided, after a succesful junior year in Ireland and other foreign adventures, that I needed to go abroad again. The plan was to travel solo down to get a job in Australia for four months, visit my friend working in Vanuatu, and finally take a brief look around New Zealand before heading back home for Christmas. These diaries were a feeble attempt to document it. Some entries have not been included on this site for being either to personal or just plain unreadable drivle. Take what you will from them. Peace.






added october 28, 2005


Advertisement



Tot: 0.302s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb