Austraaaaliaa Austraiiiiliiiiaaaa


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 1st 2007
Published: February 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Guess what I am? 1Guess what I am? 1Guess what I am? 1

I am sure everyone knows it, but not everyone has taken a close look.
Hi folks,
So I made it. I've reached my final destination in Oz, Sydney.
The City welcomed me with its charming and metropolitain flair. I arrived on the 27th of January, the Australia day. The city was packed like hell. Especially the harbours. Thousands of crazy Flag carrying Ozzies and of course as well some tourists.
The firework over Darling harbour was quite nice, although the one for NewYears must have been bigger - for sure.
Later on that night I was again confronted with my backpacker life... As I tryed to enter a club called loft... and the bouncer said: sorry your shoes are to casual! haha Well well after a couple more rejects I found a club that let me in an dance a little. I didnt dance long though, because I could still feel previous night on the bus, in my bones. Its a long way down from Byron Bay to Sydney about 11-12 hours. Luckily I didn't get bitten in the bus by bedbugs like Olli got, last year.

Just a couple days ago i met some friends from Darmstadt, Tina & Andi. They started their venture last autumn. They came here and searched for work
Guess what I am? 2Guess what I am? 2Guess what I am? 2

Now you can grasp the shape...
for a couple months and next week they plan to leave to a ride up along the east coast in their own car.... which has broken down just 2 days ago :-/ I wish them good luck.

Talking about friends in Sydney. Again I felt so lucky when I received an offer from Eva (my former room made in Bremen, who visits her boyfriend) to stay at their appartment. Its much more comfortable than staying in a hostel. You can sleep longer, you don't have to watch your stuff all the time and you have of course nice people around you.

Sightseeing:
The Opera house amazed me in two ways. It's smaller than I thought it would be, but even more beautiful than you can grasp on pictures. Did you that the outer shell is covered by ceramic tiles? I didn't. But it reflects the sunlight and gives it fine finish. I havn't seen the inside yet, but I am looking forward to.
As I said about brisbane its hilly like Frisco... Sydney is even more hilly. Eva complains, that its hard to cycle, but on the other hand it offers so many exciting views over the metropol.
Guess what  I am? 3Guess what  I am? 3Guess what I am? 3

Yes I am the Sydney Opera house built from 1959-1973 designed by Jorn Utzon, but not finished by him. Overall cost 102'000'000 $AUS




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Australia dayAustralia day
Australia day

Darling Harbour was packed.
Australia day 2Australia day 2
Australia day 2

In the middle of Darling Harbour was a floating stage, from which they performed and started the fireworks.
My favorite coffee brand... hmmmMy favorite coffee brand... hmmm
My favorite coffee brand... hmmm

As soon as I found it, I felt almost at home :-)
A beatiful smile :-)A beatiful smile :-)
A beatiful smile :-)

Seen in Sydney on Oz day.


2nd February 2007

Kaffee ist hellbraun im Vergleich zu dir!!!!
Freut mich wenn es dir gut geht!!!! Viel Spass weiter in Down Under!

Tot: 0.389s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 20; qc: 95; dbt: 0.0979s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb