Cairns and then Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
November 21st 2018
Published: November 23rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Up early again, breakfast and then a short walk to the boat that would take us out to the Great Barrier Reef. I took my trusty Bonine before we left and didn't have any problems with the boat ride. The boat took us out about 35 miles, stopping at an island to let some people off. Then it was over to the reef. They have a huge floating platform anchored at the edge of the reef. They have a semi submersible sub and glass bottomed boats for those who didn't want to go into the shark infested waters. Stacy was one of them. I though donned my Lycra suit, got my snorkeling gear and headed into the water. I did always make sure there was someone farther away from the boat than me. I forgot to get an underwater camera, so there are no photos of the fish and coral. The coral was a little disappointing as most of it was a dull grey. I thought that it was dead, but a crewman said no it was staghorn coral and that was what it was supposed to look like. I snorkeled for an hour and then came up for a rest and some lunch. Then back into the water. I followed some scuba divers around, as they were feeding the fish and there were a lot around them including one about 5 feet long. Soon it was back on the boat for the1 1/2 hour trip back to shore.

The next morning we flew to Sydney. If these blogs seem erratic its because I've been having major problems with it. I spent about an hour writing one the other day and had about 600 words written and saved on the site. All of a sudden the page turns white and the Sacramento Bee website comes on. I go back to the blog site and all I have is the first 188 words, the rest is gone. I've also had the website stop working and when I hit the recover webpage button it is all blank and I must start all over again. So I'm going to send shorter blogs with more photos.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

semi submersible subsemi submersible sub
semi submersible sub

Stacy, with her claustrophobia, actually went out on this and had fun


28th November 2018
all suited up

Snorkling
What's up with the full suit? Was it that cold. You really look good in it though.

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb