The possibilities are limitless


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » The Rocks
February 9th 2012
Published: February 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

On Monday, I went to get a simcard for my iphone (can’t live without it now) and then headed down to a bar to watch the Superbowl for a while. At lunch time I got together with a friend of an uncle of mine – Marcelo Salas (for any Chileans reading this, not related with the football player). It was a very pleasant lunch and we agreed to meet the following week with 2 other people we both know. After lunch he dropped me off at Manly beach, where I took a stroll, had a coffee and then took the ferry back to Circular Quay (right in the center of Sydney). The days have been cloudy with a bit of rain – they say it’s going to be like that for most of the days of February. Bummer.

On Tuesday I went to Watsons Bay and walked from there to Bondi Beach, had lunch there and then headed back to Circular Quay. Again, the day was cloudy, so not many people hanging out at the beach. That night I went for a run and then straight to bed. All the walking and running took its toll on me, almost every muscle in my body ached – the consequences of having stayed sedentary for the last 6 months or so. I’ll get back on track soon enough.

Wednesday was a pretty productive day. At the moment I’m exploring a few things I’m looking to do. First orders of business were going to the East Sailing club and ask about sailing lessons. I must say I’m pretty excited about it and given my background, shouldn’t be too difficult to get a sailing permit. This will also enable me to meet people and probably join weekend sails or even competitions. After I left the marina, I headed to a scuba diving center I looked up, to inquire about a PADI scuba diving instructor course. I’m really looking forwards to doing this, but in order to do it, I have to buy my own equipment and considering the investment, I would also take up the master scuba diving instructor course, so that’d be probably about a month of diving and taking lessons. I could do that here or somewhere else in Australia. Another thing to do, which is popular amongst backpackers, is buying a used campervan and set off on a road trip. Right now I’m exploring all the options I have and I guess next week I’ll have a clearer idea of what I’m going to do for the following months.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb