Macsquirrels Chair and Harbour Bridge Walk!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
February 25th 2009
Published: March 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I erupted from my bed...hang on, that's just too dramatic...and took my poor aching feet on another agonising walk this time to Mrs Macquaries Chair and Farm Cove for an amazing view across to the Opera House and Bridge! It was like Camera Club whilst I was down there as a coach load of our Japanese friends arrived complete with half of Nikkon...why are they so obsessed with photography...I think my Stepdad must have some Japanese blood in him...he likes cameras too!! Many photographs later, I finally made it to the Opera House where I rested my weary pins for a bit before embarking on today's moment of madness... The Sydney Bridge Climb...I must be totally stupid!!! Why! Why! Why! He thought once he was all harnessed up and making his way up to the first pylon, by the time we reached the top, I wanted to fill my pants (sorry too much information there) but the view was spectacular!!! Now, I just wanted to get down...scary is an understatement but being tied to the railing was reassuring!! The downward journey was nice and once my feet hit terra firma...I was mightily relieved!! I rewarded myself with a stein of Lowenbrau from the Lowenbrau Bar strangely before making my way up to the Observatory where I could get a great view of the city and harbour. I was amazed that there were lots of fitness fanatics training up there, boxing, jogging and generally exercising in another of those quirky exercise areas the Aussies seem to love. There was a Wine and Cheese Night on the roof of the hostel which just had to be frequented huh where I met not only Marty the mad Dutchmen, but also Tristram, James and Gemma who live in Kent with whom I disappeared up to The Gaff for dinner and a few beers!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb