Noodles in the park anyone???


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Sydney Harbour
October 10th 2007
Published: October 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

If you hate cooking or cant cook then my advice is to emigrate to Australia. Almost every shop is not a shop its a cafe, bistro, restaraunt, takeaway, coffee shop!!!! Sydneysiders (as the locals are called) really do like their al fresco dining. I have just come from an event (having eaten there) called Noodles in the Park approx 30 stalls selling all possible Asian cusine dishes for ridiculosly low prices and there must have been 3000 locals there.

Well I have been on the road now for over two weeks I stopped off in Singapore for 36 hours to break up the plane journey and aclimitised myself with the delights the city had to offer including the world famous Raffles Hotel, the Merlin (water lion) and the bay area where all the bars and restaraunts can be found. A very clean but humid city well worth a visit.

I then took an 8 hour flight to Sydney and although having been here before, Sydney did not fail to disappoint me. The Harbour Bridge and Opera House have to provide the best man made view in the world in my humble opinion. I have visited the Botanical Gardens and taken the ferries to many places including Watsons Bay, Rose Bay, Paramatta and the North Shore. I have strolled all around the city, many times I add, and sampled the delights of Paddington, Surrey Hills, Business District and Darling Harbour to name but a few places.

I visited the Olympic Park and took a tour of the Olympic Stadium what a place that is at a cost of $640 million (Aussie dollars) its an awesome place and the tour was well worth the $22 Aussie Bucks.

Other things that Australia does well (apart from the obvious - read it hasnt rained yet) the parks, open squares and water features dotted all over this city really make it a great place to relax.

I have visited Bondi Beach and walked to Coogee Beach, I have been to Manly which just happened to be hosting its 30th annual jazz festival I also attended the Darling Harbour labour day fiesta festival.

Oh and I nearly forgot to mention I have now climed to the top of Sydney Harbour bridge what a view and what an experince well worth the 79 english pounds for this 3.5 hour expereince. Apparently it took 15 years to make the bridge climb a reality whoever came up with the idea and persevered is a genius in April 2003 1,000,000 people had climbed the bridge I reckon they must be past the 2,000,000 mark now.

I am off to Melbourne for a week on Sunday and then onto Tasmania for a week so I look forward to sending you my next installment.

Enjoy the photos.

Bye for now

Kev :o))






Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



10th October 2007

Weather looks lovely
And everywhere is so clean...
12th October 2007

Fab pics.
Looks like you are having a wonderful time. Keep the pictures coming. The bridge price seems a little steep.Excuse the pun. Keep on trekking... brings back loads of memories.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0446s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb