Sydneysider


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Roseville
January 13th 2011
Published: January 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post


Becoming a Sydneysider has been fun...

So, as a lot of you know, I am enjoying the life of luxury in Sydney, with my own room, DOUBLE bed, access to fridge, tv, a personal tour guide with a car and places/ reasons to wear my nice clothes (and heels once or twice!) I have also had a lot of acces too the internet, so have been Skyping and talking to people and have thus neglected my BLOGGING entries.

I have just finished watching Airforce 1. Stephen has a new huge TV, blu-ray DVDs and High Definition player. I have watched so far: Catch me if you can, The Prestigue, Aviator and many others, laying on a super comphy sofa drinking green tea. Christmas day in the heat was amazing. I didnt leave the plot of land the house is on... Seafood for lunch, sunbathed outside, then had bbq and drinks in the evening, Skyped a few people. Then stayed up till 3 am to "sit" with Mum and the boys for Christmas dinner. Saw te Sydney- Hobart race leave, went for seafood by the Harbour, Darling harbour walk and drinks, Art gallery, Museum, Cruise/ Loft/ Blue of 36 Bars. All amazing cocktails and views. I had the best meal at Manly Wines the other night (christmas pressie for my Sydney family). Met up with a few Londoners over here too... Went on a Yacht weekend around the harbour and across spit bridge. Went for a lovely seafood meal there too. We "ran a ground" in the Mangrove area known as the breeding ground for bullsharks! We had to get rescued and the cappaccino selling man helped us out. I was planning to swim about 5km to the next boat! We had a good meal on the boat too. Spag bol for 7 with limited space was a good effort. The tender boat also sank as we rowed to the restaurant, and while we were up one night, another moored boat hit us, so we had to move/ change mooring at 2am. Without a boat hook to get the boy onboard. Fun times though! I have also been to 2 other australian BBQs, many meals out (amazing French BYO last night) and stayed with students in Coogee and learned how to make dumplings, and Dutch pancakes.

Stephen and I went to the Blue Mountains today. Walked around a lot, stopped and had our packed lunch, had afternoon tea and scones (really good scones!) went on the steepest railway IN THE WORLD. I finaly finished Oscar and Lucinda (good but long) and now have a book about the OPERA HOUSE (geek) which so far has explained all the history about Cook is 1770 "discivering" Australia and in 1778, someone Sydney and something Philipp send 1400 "souls" 50% convicts over and their relationship with aborigionals, Barrelng and Barrangaroo? AMAZING. I also went to a really good architecture exhibition by accident. Planning on going swimming tomorrow in a 50m outdoor seapool which is between Luna Park and the Harbour bridge. Then there are a few more bars we need to try.

I am looking forward to Mhairi coming over on Tuesday, whoop whoop... We have a week of couch surfing, nights out in Kings Cross, market shopping in Paddington and hopefully alot of beach time.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb