Life in Sydney is drawing to a close ...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Newtown
May 17th 2011
Published: May 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey family and friends, its your long lost daughter/niece/granddaughter/sister/friend here! Remember me?! Haha, sorry I haven't updated for so long - I haven't had a lot to tell. Have been working very hard, 6 days/nights a week and inbetween I either sleep or go out! My liver is taking a pounding. But don't worry, I'm eating pretty healthily and remarkably haven't caught even a cold!
The weather here has taken a turn for the cold as winter finally arrives - we had the coldest day of the year so far last week (snow just outside of Sydney!) which had the Auzzies wrapping up in scarves and gloves ... much to my amusement as it was nothing to us hardened British! Night times are getting pretty chilly though and as the bar I work in is partly outdoors it gets pretty nippy at work! Still really enjoying my job, definately got lucky starting working there - get on really well with everybody and have made and saved plenty of money. Handed in my 2 week notice yesterday which was very sad and I'm not looking forward to saying bye to all the people I've met but I know this is part of travelling and I've made plans to see them again and stay in contact, some have even invited me to come and live with them! (Holidays sorted for a few years!)
On the 1st June I start my journey up the coast. It will be the first time I will be alone since arriving in Oz so I am a little nervous, however my friend has just returned from doing it and thoroughly enjoyed himself so I really can't wait! Especially as the weather gets warmer and hotter the further north I go ... can start working on my tan again before you all laugh at how pale I still am!
My plans include stopping at Byron Bay, 4WD and camping on Fraser Island, sailing the Whitsundays, skydiving (decided to save this for further up the coast where the view will be better) and of course, the Great Barrier Reef. Plus much more! I'm using a hop on hop off bus pass so I have total flexibility .. I think my only issue will be squeezing everything into 4 weeks!
In other news, my place at Loughborough University is confirmed and I can apply for my accomodation any day now. Even though I'm reluctant to return to England, I am so excited about going to Uni so it makes it easier!
My best friend from home, Hannah, has her Dad coming out for 2 days next week so am really looking forward to seeing him .. nothing to do with a meal out in a restaurant and using the bath in his hotel room which me and hannah are verrrryyy excited about!! Will be nice to hear some news from England.
Hope everyone is well. I have a few pictures to add but nothing too exciting, they'll be coming on in stages so keep checking back! Take care everyone, love from your little explorer :D xxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 91, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.054s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb