Taking Off


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Newtown
August 26th 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Kingsford Smith Airport


After a final coffee at Newtown cafe, I said goodbye to the suburb that had been home for the better part of two years and the pretty Northern English waitress who had served us, and headed to the airport.
I went to check in at JetStar. This is roughly when the trouble started.
I produced my passport and my USA visa waiver. The girl at check in then asked for my ticket out of Hawaii, so I dug through my documents and showed that to her as well. She looked at it long and hard and made an ummming noise that I found unnerving.
At this point I should make a point of saying that she was extremely friendly and apologetic, and I was going in to a state of shock so any quotes accredited to her or myself have to be taken with a liberal pinch of salt...
"A ticket to South America doesn't actually count as a ticket out of USA because they're connected by land. Where are you going after that?"
"Chile."
"Well that doesn't help either. I'm afraid without a ticket to a country you have a visa to stay in you can't get on the flight for the USA."
"You can't get a visa for Peru until you arrive - they issue it on the spot."
"Then you've got the wrong kind of US visa. You shouldn't have applied for the visa waiver."
I was tempted to mention the several emails from Jetstar I had received ALL of which had advised me to get the visa waiver but resisted.
"Look, you've got an hour before check in closes. Go book a refundable ticket out of South America and when you get out of Hawaii, refund it."
I wish I could say a frantic hour ensued of running around, trying to get a ticket. But basically, we went downstairs to the only internet cafe with printing services in the airport and Mum called her friend Morag, who is a travel agent, and got her to look in to booking a flight out of South America with Mum's frequent flyer miles.
I blanched, sat on the floor, felt very much like vomitting and snapped at my little sister for singing.
At 4:58 I came racing back up the elevator with a ticket from Buenos Aires for Sydney booked for February next year, slapped it on the counter feeling relieved. Until, once again, I got the extended look and another ummmmm.
"What is it?"
"Well this flight is for February. You really needed to book a flight for within three months of entering the USA."
"So what are you saying?"
"Let me talk to my supervisor."
The supervisor came over and looked at the ticket. Then another did. And another. In the end, they decided that they needed to see my flight out of Peru to Chile as well. So to get on the plane, I needed to show my ticket for the flight to Hawaii, my visa waiver, my flight from Hawaii to Peru, my flight out of BA back to Sydney and my flight from Peru to Chile.
I was not impressed. JetStar are aware that they are just the airline, not US customs right?
I was allowed to board but was told that my bags would most likely not make the flight, but would arrive on the next day's flight at the latest. Whatever, I just wanted to get on the plane and put this crap behind me.
I got through Australia's departure customs and raced straight to board the plane - no time to claim my tax back on the camera and iPod I'd bought for the trip or get something to eat. I had to order food on the plane - $18 for an airline-standard lamb curry and a VB.

Advertisement



2nd September 2010

wtf
well thats one hell of a departure mr frost, but hey thanks for the heads up at least i know for my travels when i embark next year. looks like your having a blast as for wake up well you know how it is out with the old in with the new wahoooo travel safe bro

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb