My weekend 19th - 22nd September 2008


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kogarah
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Such a good weekend!!


It started with me dragging myself out of bed on Friday for an early train ride to Kogorah and another bus to the Abyss Dive Shop.

Once I'd met all the guys - a very friendly bunch of very experienced divers (I felt like a beginner in comparison) we drove to Kurnell National Park to the VooDoo dive site. Now it was a hot day - around 25 but my god the water hadn't quite got round to heating up yet!!!! I did learn to dive in Scotland so I should have been used to it but then this time round I didn't have the benefit of a dry suit!!!


I did 2 dives which were both great - we saw lots of Port Jackson sharks and Moray Eels which are freaky looking things that just stare at you with their mouths open as if they are going to pounce - they didn't thank goodness as we had enough to contend with given the surge and current that was trying to take us off to New Zealand.


There was also an incident on land with a red bellied black snake (?) apparently but luckily I was at the ladies tree at that point - thank goodness!!! I have so far managed to avoid any of this beautiful country's deadly little creatures!! (The sharks were non-human eating types - or so I am told!).



A good day was nicely finished off with a few Blondie beers at the local bar with my new dive buddies 😊



I then had a great few shifts at the Orangepeel. I love all the customers there - they are so keen to talk to me because of my "Irish" accent - its hilarious! I had some lovely jubbly food and good chat and some sunburn to throw into the bargain!



I also did a shift at the pub, enjoyed a few beers there and caught Australian Idol - which is just hilaaaarious!!!They are so rubbish that its tres amusing!!! Simon Cowell would be horrified!



On Monday my flatmates and a few friends and I went to the Nepalese Kitchen in Surry Hills for some quality food - the goat was especially yum! What I love here in Sydney is that almost every restaurant is BYO so its super cheap for a meal out which means more food! Yay.



We then went to a bit of a secret Jazz Club called 505 - its the 5th Apartment on the fifth floor somewhere in the City. Its not really advertised and is just in some smelly old grafittied apartment and hardly anyone knows about it - you've got to know the right people apparently which luckily my roomies did so we were in!



A band called Malone were playing and I loved their jazzy music - the lead singer was hilarious! A very cool band which I will be down loading from itunes soon. 505 was also BYO so a good night was had by all.


I love weekends 😊




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0251s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb