First day Sydney: rain, and biggest Mardi Gras in the world


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
March 1st 2014
Published: March 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

My first impressions of Sydney were: 1) surprising amounts of rain, 2) plenty of European bakeries where they sell decent bread for a change, 3) gaaaaaaaaay. And by that I mean I arrived on the day of the annual Mardi Gras in Sydney, it's gay parade, biggest in the world (or at least the most famous?).

And it's Fabulous.

No I really loved it. It used to be about the glamour, now half of it seems to be just the grassroots-ness of it all, and the liberal messages liberally sprinkled throughout the parade. And just how many different groups support it, and the varied ways it finds expression: I've seen police officers, prison league rugby players, parents, kids, army people, Daleks exterminating homophobia, gaymers, people in Star Trek uniform dragging a Death Star (I didn't get that one either), not to mention the french, jewish and japanese gay communities.

Oh, and then there was a stream of Putin floats :D

Sydney's Mardi Gras is something they can be proud of, if you'll forgive me the pun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Nearby parkNearby park
Nearby park

Note: my hostel is in the red-light district. It's not unsafe, except for maybe the street I live in at 2 AM, a local assured me.
DSCF3003DSCF3003
DSCF3003

Ooh, euro-style architecture!
DSCF3007DSCF3007
DSCF3007

..interesting..
DSCF3099DSCF3099
DSCF3099

Most of the gay bars are in the street of the parade. This street also features some interesting restaurants and store names.
Random lights on buildingRandom lights on building
Random lights on building

..were sometimes fittingly pink :)
DSCF3030DSCF3030
DSCF3030

People in Star Trek uniforms and a death star. Anyone?
Pussy PowerPussy Power
Pussy Power

Just so you know
Putin 1Putin 1
Putin 1

My photo timing wasn't always up to snuff, but you can see this Putin is sad from seeing the Mardi Gras.


4th March 2014

Great Photos - Glad You Had Fun
Hi, I'm glad you enjoyed the parade. I'm the red-head Ensign with the Star Trek float - just FYI it's a Borg Sphere from Star Trek: First Contact and not a Death Star. Just wondering if I could snag a few photos of us for the USS Tydirium's (our ship's) Facebook page.

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb