Happy Holidays!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
December 26th 2006
Published: December 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Byron BayByron BayByron Bay

Loads of surfers!
Happy Holidays!!! So what have I been up too you ask?? Well…I headed to Byron Bay after Brisbane. Byron Bay is Hippyville with a Capital H! It basically has two, well three categories of people. Hippies, Yuppies and Backpackers. Byron Bay is all about surfing, yoga, meditation and shopping. You don’t go to Byron Bay if you are looking for an action packed time!

I spent 5 days in Byron Bay. My time was spent sun tanning, shopping, diving and walking. I walked lots in Byron. The hostel I stayed at was about a 15 minute walk from the main part of town. There was a shuttle into town but the path to get to town was the beach so it was faster and better scenery to walk. I also did some running and hiked up to the Light House one day. Funny in Byron Bay everyone surf’s but I was too lazy too. I think because it is so laid back there it really rubbed off on me and I just couldn’t muster the energy to do anything too strenuous. Besides, I knew I had to save my energy for Sydney - which I am very thankful now!
Local Wildlife in ByronLocal Wildlife in ByronLocal Wildlife in Byron

Saw lots of lizards on my walk to the Light House in Byron.

Diving was really cool in Byron. Even though I loved diving the Great Barrier Reef, I saw more ocean life in my two dives in Byron then in the 3 days on the Reef. I saw turtles, octopus, crab, lobster, sting rays, lion fish, jelly fish, eels and a Grey Nurse shark!!!! It was so cool! It was probably 7 feet long. He had a huge school of fish following him too. He swam right beside us and wasn’t even at all interested we were there.

I flew back to Sydney on the 22nd. I was so very excited to be back in Sydney and still am. I love this place so much. Almost everyone that I met when I first came to Australia stayed in Sydney, so I have been out with them almost every night - making up for my lack of partying down the East Coast.

Christmas Eve Nadine (my German friend) and I went up the Sydney Tower to have a look. However, it was very rainy that day so we could not see very far. I couldn’t believe the amount of people up in the Tower and in the stores downtown. People everywhere!
Part of the Sydney Gang!Part of the Sydney Gang!Part of the Sydney Gang!

My first night back in Sydney - let's party!
In the evening a small group of us went out and partied. It’s funny because I wouldn’t even think about going out back home on Christmas Eve. I guess things are done differently here. Christmas Day was great. Slept in till almost 11 am - never would do that back home either. Nadine came to the hostel and we had Christmas lunch with the rest of my hostel. The meal consisted of turkey and potatoes, gravy, broccoli, squash, and sausages wrapped in bacon. After we met with the boys and headed to Bondi Beach. That is where all the backpackers go on Christmas Day. We all had our Santa hats and sunnies and we laid in the sun and swam in the ocean. A very relaxing Christmas Day.

Today was the Sydney to Hobart Yacht race. Unfortunately, where we went to watch the start of the race wasn’t the start so we didn’t get to see anything.

Tomorrow I am off in search of a car. I have decided that I want my own wheels. After the New Year I will head south towards Melbourne. Probably stay there for a while if I like it, settle down and
ReeseReeseReese

After a night out, we stopped in a convenience store and I found Reese's Pieces and the Peanut Butter cups! I was so excited I was jumping up and down. When Brian (my Canadian friend) found out he had the same reaction!!
get a job. Ohhh not sure I like the sound of that…a job!!! I think wages are pretty good here. My friend Nadine is working at Luna Park here in Sydney and she is just working in food and beverage and she is making $15.50 an hour, so really that’s not too bad.

So I haven’t really been up to much. Just relaxing lots and taken it easy. I am enjoying being back in Sydney and spending time with my friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

LaundryLaundry
Laundry

When you backpack you really improvise on certain things. Here I am hanging my laundry to dry above my bed. Laundry is $3 a wash and $3 a dry here.
Christmas EveChristmas Eve
Christmas Eve

Waiting for the bus to take us to Bondi Hotel for a Christmas Party session.
Christmas Day at Bondi BeachChristmas Day at Bondi Beach
Christmas Day at Bondi Beach

Chillin on the beach with the boys.


26th December 2006

merry christmas janine! i was thinking of you today. i hope you are having a wonderful time! it's pretty warm here and no snow... so you aren't missing out on a white christmas. i wish i was on the beach with you!!!!! *hugs and kisses* nicole
26th December 2006

Having a blast....
Hi Janine, Looks like you are having a blast there!!! Glad to hear it...anyway, Jib, Natasha and I just wanted to wish you a belated merry Christmas and a fantstic New Year...... Take care!
26th December 2006

MERRY CHRISTMAS!
Merry Christmas my friend!
26th December 2006

Merry Christmas
Rick, Laurie and I are just heading to the airport to go to Quadra Island for a week. Will be having your mom and Ken over for the holidays when we get back. Keep smiling, Keep enjoying, keep us posted. Verna
27th December 2006

Merry Christmas!
Merry Christmas! Love reading about your travels. Saw a 10 minuite news clup about the backpackers on Bondi Beach on CTV News... was hoping to catch a glmpse of you there, but I didn't :o( Sounds like all is going awesome! Don't go to Tasmania, I hear it snowed the other day... lol Stay safe, and don't do anything I wouldn't do on New Years... err... perhaps do absoloutely EVERYTHING I would on New Years.
30th December 2006

Happy New Year!
Hi Bryan! Funny about the news clip, we were just to the left of the camera! I think it has been cold everywhere in Australia. Sydney hasn't been so warm, mind you it would be hott to everyone back home but I have climatized so now cold is like +15 LOL!
30th December 2006

Hey Nicole!
Hi Girl! Good to hear from you. Hope you have a terrific holiday season. You need to fill me in on your boy situation!!! Love you and miss you lots!
12th January 2007

oh lala
haha six guys and a girl in santa hat on the beach HOT!!!.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb