Pancakes and Bubbles : the perfect way to fly back to Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Hyde Park
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Good Day Mates
Thursday February 17th.
Again (!) I woke up early. 6:30. Grrrr...But than again, it is summer and so you don't need as much sleep as you do in winter. After having checked Facebook, chatted with some "mates" it was time to clean up the mess that I made in my room : clothes everywhere ! Took a shower and packed my suitcase again. My flight to Sydney was scheduled to leave at 12:40. Packing the suitcase went faster than I thought , so instead of taking the 9:22 bus to the airport I caught the 8:52 one. The bus ride took about 40 minutes. So at 09:30 I already arrived at the airport. No worries. I had purchased access to the Jetstart Lounge and that would keep me busy. But up on entering the departure hall I noticed that Jetstar had a flight at 11:15 as well to Sydney. So off I went to their Service Desk. Looked into the gorgeous blue eyes of Mike ( that was the name on his badge) and asked what it would cost to be booked over to the 11:15 flight ? "Nothing at all!" He replied ! Now how great was that?! So Mike booked me over. Of course that meant less time in the lounge. Damn. :-)
I quickly dropped off my luggage and went off to the lounge. I paied €7,50 for the access and man : it was worth every cent : There was a sparkling cuvee, red&white wine, coffee, thea, fruit juice, soft drinks and food, lots of food ! Including a self making pancake machine ( see Facebook for a picture). So picture this : me updating Facebook with some new pictures via the free Wifi; while eating pancakes and drinking from the white Cuvée (bubbles). And that while awaiting a flight to SYDNEY ! *SIGH* How much greater is this holiday going to become?!
So instead of writing this update from JQ413 I am typing this update now on JQ409. Once again a smooth flight : we left on time, the aircraft is a recent new Airbus A320 and the crew is very nice. I have nobody sitting next to me. Ipod is playing Wicked Soundtrack and the coffee I purchased ( €2,50) is tasting good ! I am absolutely happy about this Jetstar experience. € 101 Euros for a return ticket and an entrance to their Lounge at Gold Coast airport. Not bad if you ask me.
Now that I left the Gold Coast and flying back to Sydney let me reflect on my 3 night stay in Surfers Paradise. The beaches here are not the most beautiful ones I've seen, but than again, all the available entertainment ( in EVERY meaning of the word) was available. So two thumbs up for Surfers Paradise.
Now I am going to shut down this mini notebook and enjoy the rest of Wicked and my flight to Sydney. And of course, looking forward to an awesome 6 days. Starting this evening with seeing Jason again for a meal and drinks ! Ahhhhhh.... What a life !

Joeri
x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb