Woolloomooloo


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Hyde Park
February 7th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

You have to love Sydney. Any city that has area with such "London-esque" terms like "King's Cross", "Paddington" and "Hyde Park" (my current residence) and gives equal respect to others known as "Woolloomooloo" or "Barangaroo" deserves a very large pat on the back. Of course, this is not meant to be offensive as many of these terms come from the various Aboriginal languages that were the first ones spoken on this fascinating and exotic land...but try saying those three times fast!

Trouble for the Aboriginals began in 1788 when Captain Arthur Phillip established Sydney (he named it after the British Home Secretary, Lord Sydney) as British territory. He brought along many vessels filled with 751 convicts, both male and female, as well as other naval personnel and other soldiers and officials and their families. The female convicts were said to be particularly savage and difficult to manage (men never do get "it") but that being said, collectively, they were able to successfully establish a colony. Not a bad feat considering the harsh conditions and the tentative relations they experienced with the Aboriginals. I will save that treatise for another day because as I type, I see a magnificent building known as the "Sydney Opera House" and the "Harbour Bridge" gleaming in the distance and today I wish to celebrate this wonderful city.

If Melbourne is a funky bohemian, then Sydney is her naughty and mischievous counterpart! Again, I am floored by the respect Sydney has for "classical" architecture...there again are many lovely and elegant Victorian structures dotted throughout this vast city. And somehow, they blend very beautifully with some dazzling and eye-popping modern-day creations. In fact, the Sydney Museum is built on the site of the original first government house and cleverly incorporates original foundation stones, walls and blueprints with futuristic glass, steel and wood. Torontonians really could learn a lesson or two (or three!) from the urban planners of Sydney.

It helps too that the blistering heat of the past week, with temperatures soaring above 40 degrees Celsius has since dissipated. I feel very comfortable in this city already and enjoy the genuine friendliness of its residents. The tourists here are the problems...if I see one more photo session where people are contorting their bodies foolishly so that the final picture looks like they are actually holding the object in question, I may have to resort to violence! The other maddening moments I see continuously are where people are doing their best "Vogue" covers and strike some foolish and unflattering poses. I do feel that in this age of technology and wizardry of cameras, that people are forgetting to "be in the moment" and are far too focussed on getting that "perfect shot".

I point. I shoot. I sit. I gaze. I reflect.

I wish more people would try that approach. They might suddenly realize they are in a magnificent city in the Southern Hemisphere known as "Sydney".


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



8th February 2011

Woolloomooloo
First of all glad to hear you are "out of the water" so to speak, and thoroughly enjoying your new "favourite city". Oh it does sound splendid. I love the pics of the buildings with such a Victorian touch. It truly looks like you are in England in some of them. Isn't that wonderful though!! I love hearing about the history and how it all began. Enjoy Sydney Dear Kevin we are fine, what can I say literally "Covered" in snow hahaha and I'm doing my best to shovel/sweep the driveway and walkway. We miss you but Love hearing about your adventures!! Had a couple of FAM BAMS everyone asking about you. JUDE xo

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb