Melbourne and the MCG


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » CBD
February 13th 2012
Published: February 13th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Melbourne barsMelbourne barsMelbourne bars

Storage container bar
Hi all,

I write whilst still in Sydney, though we are out of there a week Saturday to once again start off on our travels.

The new job is going swimmingly. I got a chance on my second week to go on a road trip out of the city, so it was my first chance to see some of Australia that wasn't city. The destination was Wagga Wagga, a small lifeless town somewhere near (I say near, but this is Australia so I really mean about 3 hours away from) Canberra. We stayed in a trailer park and I was able to get to know the people from work pretty well over the course of the week. They are now good friends and we often have some drinks after work on Friday and Saturday.

I got my first promotion 2 weeks in, by hitting sales targets for my 1st two weeks in a row (many take months, turns out I'm not too shabby at sales) I can now train up my own guys and currently have 2 going through training. I then get paid a little bit for each of their sales, not too bad! I suppose it's
Melbourne barsMelbourne barsMelbourne bars

Underground whiskey bar: Very comfortable sofas!
the beauty of a job that is essentially a glorified pyramid scheme..

But anyway, back to events. We have now got a 3rd traveller in our midst!! May I introduce Alex, better known in University circles as 'Bexon' or 'Bexdog' (the last one slightly more rarely). He has flown out to meet us from the UK and will now be with us for the remainder of the trip. As he's not working here he is taking the time whilst me and Jeppy finish up our jobs to re-explore Sydney, he was here 5 years ago on his pre-uni gap year, and relax on various beaches within easy reach, depending on the weather.

Me, Jeppy and Bexon the weekend before last took a trip to Melbourne. A 12 hour train over Friday night got us into Melbourne at about 9am, where we spent the morning wondering round before filling up on pancakes at pancake parlour, it was awesome. We checked into our hostel then on the recommendations of the hostel guy went on a crawl of some of the best bars in Melbourne. There were some amazing places, a 7th floor rooftop bar, a converted carpark with shipping containers
MCGMCGMCG

Our seats at the cricket
as the bar and bolted pallets and oil barrels as the chairs and tables, an underground whiskey bar, and a few pubs. We then headed down to the MCG (Melbourne cricket ground) where we had booked tickets for the India Australia 20-20 game. The MCG was an awesome venue and the game was even better. Only 2 sixes but came down to the last over where India needed one to win and hit it with 2 balls to spare.

On the Saturday Jeppy had to head home for his evening shift, so me and Bexon went down to St Kildas, Melbourne's beach suburb and chilled there for the day before meeting with Chris we met in New Zealand and one of Bexons friends he met in Croatia. Sunday was fully taken with the return journey. 12 hours is too long, next time we'll fly!

Last weekend I turned 23. We celebrated by going to an awesome all you can eat korean bbq, where you have hot plates on the table and cook your own meat. It was accompanied with soju, which is a sort of rice vodka that I would recommend to anyone as one to avoid.
St KildaSt KildaSt Kilda

Melbournes beach surburb

This weekend is a trip to the Blue mountains, maybe to do some canyoning and a bit of bush walking. More on that next time!!

Over and out x

Andy, Tom and Bexon


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mac 'n Cheese burgerMac 'n Cheese burger
Mac 'n Cheese burger

Our American creation inspired by watching 'Man Vs Food'. If you've never seen this show watch it now!!


Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb