B-A-N-A-N-A-S INDEED


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Richmond
October 10th 2006
Published: October 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DAD IN OZ?DAD IN OZ?DAD IN OZ?

Walking through the halls of a house on the other side of the planet and seeing a picture of your dad is kinda weird.
So yesterday I decided to check out Richmond and see what its all about and let me tell you..not much. It kinda reminds me of a bigger Berwick, and I like it. Just a big park with a few shopping areas and resturants around. Also in the center of town is the trainstation.
I was able to mail off some post cards and pick up some bubble envlopes to send some gifts back home as well. Once done looking around I had a cap. at a little cafe (seems like everyehere you go there is your choice of cafes). I then picked up some food from the local shop and headed back "home".
Buff (dog) has been pretty good as well. I went to take him for a walk but he didn't seem to into it so we just played in the backyard for a while. The remainder of the night was me trying to figure out how all the transit systems work in the city (its really hard but I got it) so I could get the train and head in tomorrow.

*Quick note...bananas in Australia are EXTREAMLY expensive now because of a cyclone that distroyed most of
RichmondRichmondRichmond

Street in richmond
the crops. The price I seen in the store was 12.98/kg .... thats about 5.90/lb.


Today I got up early to feed the dog and get ready to head into town. I got the DayTripper pass which was only $15.40 and gave me access to all busses, trains, and ferries for the day. It only took about 1.5 hours to get into Sydney from Richmond, along the way I could see the Blue Mountians and a lot fo the subburbs of Sydney. I also, quickly, seen a wild kangaroo laying in the trees...at least I'm pretty sure it was.

Once back in Sydney I headed to MapWorld (place I am trying to get a job). The manager wasn't in but the guy I spoke with knew of me and told me that I was on the timetable to work on the following Monday, so without even having an interview I was hired. The store is very simiular to Maps & Ducks, about 97%!o(MISSING)f the stuff they sell, I have worked with in Maps & Ducks, so it doesn't look like I'll need much training. I do have to find a pair of black pants to wear though, but thats about it. I am not sure on how many hours I will get or what the pay is, but I should find it out on Monday. If its a good pay every week, I'll probably try and find a place of my own to live...staying in hostels can start getting expensive after a while...but i'll see how it goes.

The remainder of the day was spent doing a bit more sightseeing and using the transit pass I got, So I took the ferry out of circular quay (pronounced: KEY) and then go the bus back to the CBD, had a bite at Mc Cramps and then got the train back home....Another good day in the Land Down Under.

Miss you all heaps, but not enough to come home HAHA.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Mr. WhippyMr. Whippy
Mr. Whippy

Like our Dicki-dee
On the trainOn the train
On the train

Blue Mountians in the background


10th October 2006

Sounds like your having a good time. Good news about the job! Are you ready to start work yet? Let us know ASAP on how the interview goes.
11th October 2006

Looks like awesome times, and thats so crazy about the bananas and coke. But everything looks so beautiful there, I'm green with envy...lol... Hope ya have some good times, and no doubt you will and post more pictures!
11th October 2006

Wow!
SO you have been in Australia for like a week and you already have a job, damn your luck is good! Congrats on that! So even if the food is pricy who cares.. who eats bananas and drink coke anyways? haha. Hope your having a lot of fun! And keep updating and what not. Later Tyler. From Brennan and Jenn!
11th October 2006

hey tyler.. wow like all kinds of ppl are leaving you msg's.. i saw one from lisa.. lol anyways berwick for life and i am soo happy you are having a good time.. i still cannot tell you how much i miss you and how much i was there travelling with you!!!!!!!!! ok well keep on keeping on!!!! miss you
12th October 2006

I want mail!!
Miss you tons...as if you didn't already know that :P I'm waiting for mail, so get your butt in gear and get to a post office. Good luck with the apartment searching and I hope the new job works out well. xoxo --Ash

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb