An Australian Christmas, and other tales...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Macquarie
December 24th 2012
Published: December 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hunter Valley B&BHunter Valley B&BHunter Valley B&B

A lovely homestead
Hello again everyone and Merry Christmas!

I've just read back through this essay below and it's a wee bit long so feel free to read it in shifts! I originally thought I wouldn't have that much to say on this blog so doing it every few weeks would suffice, but the last couple of times I've written it I seem to have wittered on for a long time. Maybe in future I'll do it more often but it's tricky finding the time with so much going on.

I'm in Port Macquarie on the northern New South Wales coast staying with friends for the Christmas season. A couple of nights ago we went to a carol concert and mini-fair organized by one of the local churches. It was fun and the kids loved it all, but I still really can't get into the Chistmas spirit because it is too hot and I'm not at home in Sussex with all the madness that goes on there! I know I will miss everyone on Christmas Day but I think I'll treat it as just another Ozzie experience and look forward to a family Easter on my return.

It's now Christmas Eve
Hunter ValleyHunter ValleyHunter Valley

View from a winery out across the valley
and the kids are playing fairly happily with each other, the mums have gone shopping so Viv, Kev and I are in charge. It's so different dealing with little girls. My only training is with my nephews so I'm drawn towards Asha, the only boy who is the youngest and gets a little left out. We'll have a full turkey roast dinner tomorrow and there are loads of presents under the tree so I imagine it will be a fairly chaotic day - just like home!!

When I last left the blog we were leaving for the Hunter Valley. It is a beautiful area full of vineyards and wineries so obviously we had to take a wine-tasting tour to sample to local produce. We chose "Two Fat Blokes Wine Tours" (the name appealed!) & booked into the B&B run by the wife of one of the Fat Blokes. It was on a large property in the countryside so it was lovely and quiet. We visited 4 places on the tour, each with their own specialities, the last one being the combining of wine and chocolate. Watching Mum's face when she bit into chilli-chocolate was priceless!!

The next day
Nelson's BayNelson's BayNelson's Bay

Beautiful bays
was a drive down to stay in Nelson's Bay, Port Stephen which is a lovely coastal area with dolphins in the bay (we saw a few while we were there). We met up with Peter and Di Daniell for lunch (relatives on Mum's side). It was really nice to catch up with them as we'd stayed with them 20 years ago when they lived in Sydney. Also, they had been able to pick up Mum's diary from the Hunter Valley B&B which she'd left behind - crisis averted.

A couple of days there, then we were moving on again. This constant packing and unpacking is going to drive me crazy!! A long drive back down to Sydney and over the Harbour Bridge - we made sure we got in the correct lane to go over the bridge rather than through the tunnel, then Mum grabbed every camera & took pictures as we drove over. Unfortunately that meant that we missed the right turn off the bridge and got lost in the city. So...we were only an hour late returning the rental car & meeting up with our next kind host, Gill. I'd been her and Rick's accountant for many
Mum & GillMum & GillMum & Gill

First day in Pittwater, on a walk around the National Park.
years so when I mentioned that I was travelling to Oz they'd insisted that I visit because they live in the prettiest part of the country. Well, how could I resist. When I mentioned I'd have my mum with me too, they were even more insistent. I had an inckling that Gill & Mum would get along so it was a done deal.

Gill met us because she lives in Pittwater, about an hour north of Sydney, in an off-shore property, meaning that there is only access by boat. Residents leave their cars at the shore & get the ferry or a water taxi home. This means a fair bit of planning when going out for shopping or buying furniture! Their place is a bit of a climb up from their jetty and is set in a National Park with views across the bay to Scotland Island. It is a different way of life and very relaxing for a visit but I don't think I could live there because I like to have life's comforts a little closer to hand.

Mum and Gill did get along very well, with a fair bit of bonding over complaining about my
PittwaterPittwaterPittwater

View out to the bay from behind/above Gill & Rick's house
fussy eating habits and lack of cooking skills. I had to bite my toungue not to say that it was at the expense of learning how to keep the tax man away ;-) It was a shame that Mum was only there for a day because she flew home the next day. Gill & I drove her to the airport and we said a brief goodbye - the Nicksons don't tend to do big emotional scenes! I was sad to see Mum go because we'd had a really lovely trip together, done some brilliant things and most importantly we hadn't killed each other :-) Mum has emailed to say she had a great time and wishes she could have stayed longer but Christmas with the family beckoned and Nanny needs to be home to spoil all the grandchildren!

As well as enjoying the fabulous surroundings at Pittwater for the week, we went out and about each day. One evening I went to a choir rehearsal with Gill for a carol concert some of the community perform on a barge. It travels around the water to the various bays and the choir sings to the other residents near to Christmas,
Lunch!Lunch!Lunch!

Restaurant near Palm Beach with Rick & Gill
then they all return to the dock for a drink and a knees-up. Another day we went to Palm Beach where we had lunch at a restaurant looking out across the water and where I spotted a couple of locations they use in filming Home & Away. More of that later.

After a few days I travelled back into Sydney with Gill for the next leg of my trip. We had lunch at the Art Gallery of New South Wales then looked around an exhibit of Australian artists which was interesting as Gill was able to tell me a lot about them. She dropped me off at my next hotel and we bid a fond farewell. I was on my own now.

I took some time to get to know my new surroundings and sort out what I would do with myself for the next week. One morning I met up with another friend/ex-client, Steve, for breakfast at a restaurant on the north shore of Sydney Harbour with views of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. He brought along his wife and 9 mth old daughter (very cute) and a friend and it was lovely getting to know
Breakfast Buddies!Breakfast Buddies!Breakfast Buddies!

Steve, Aretha, Elena and Mike
them and catching up with Steve. He's actually a Kiwi and his wife is from Gibraltor but they settled in Sydney about 5 years ago and seem to love it. I'm hoping to see them again in January for a game of tennis. Might be a bit warm?!

After a walk around the shore with them we parted ways and I got the ferry over to Darling Harbour to have a look around. I went into the Sydney Aquarium there and saw lots of sharks, rays, fish and other marine life - very similar to Sea Life Centres we have. On a whim, when I saw an ad for a trip to the Blue Mountains I booked on it for the next day. Unfortunately it turned out to be my first disappointment here, because the higher we drove into the hills, the foggier it got so that by the time we got the famous 'Three Sisters' we couldn't see them at all :-( The only redeeming part was a trip to a wildlife zoo where we saw koalas, kangaroos and loads of other animals.

I had a much better day later in the week when I went on
Under The SeaUnder The SeaUnder The Sea

What's lurking? :-/
the Home & Away tour up to the northern beaches. It was all British people on the tour which is apparently the norm! We visited various locations they have used over the years including the old diner where Martha's flat was upstairs, the beach where Meg died in Blake's arms, the hospital used for exterior shots and finally Palm Beach where they currently film all the beach scenes and the outside of the surf club. Luckily for us they were filming the day we went. As we pulled into the car park we saw Heath and Bianca just leaving as they'd finished for the day. We were then able to watch Marilyn, John Palmer and Jet rehearsing and filming a scene outside the surf club after which Marilyn happily posed for pictures with people. John was left alone and Jett disappeared in the other direction. I saw him later with some other people and asked if I could take a photo of him, but he had to refuse as he is under age. After lunch John and Jett were filiming more on the beach and had been joined by Indi and some new younger characters. We could only watch from
Emu's!!!Emu's!!!Emu's!!!

Where's Rod Hull when you need him?!
a distance and then had to leave as our time was up :-( We were dropped off at Manly wharf with our ferry ticket so I made my way home, a happy little soap fan :-)

That evening I packed once again ready to leave on the train for Port Macquarie the next day. The journey was fine after a little scare when I couldn't find my prescription sunglasses in the railway station. Luckily I remembered having them with me when I went into the ticket office and having found someone to look after my 4 items of baggage, I went off in search. They'd found them - I was so relieved that I'd realised before the train left! This traveling lark is fun, but you really do have to keep your wits about you to ensure that you're always where you're supposed to be at the right time and with all the right gear. I dread losing an essential item that I can't replace and having to decide whether to go back for it or have to change plans and bookings.

I'm now in one place for just over a week so I can relax here, in
Filming H&AFilming H&AFilming H&A

Jett & John Palmer doing the 'walk & talk'
between babysitting duties! After Christmas I return to the city to bring in the new year watching the Harbour fireworks which should be spectacular - I can't wait!!!

Merry Christmas to you all

Jo :-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 29


Advertisement

Barrenjoey LighthouseBarrenjoey Lighthouse
Barrenjoey Lighthouse

At end of peninsular, used in Home & Away sequences
Jetty!Jetty!
Jetty!

Used in H&A
Tall ship in the HarbourTall ship in the Harbour
Tall ship in the Harbour

A chance sighting on way to Art Gallery
Breakfast at the HarbourBreakfast at the Harbour
Breakfast at the Harbour

Can't beat that view!
Penguins at the AquariumPenguins at the Aquarium
Penguins at the Aquarium

Having a quick dip!
Darling HarbourDarling Harbour
Darling Harbour

What's Santa doing?!
Darling HarbourDarling Harbour
Darling Harbour

Santa gets everywhere!


3rd January 2013

blog, etc
Good to get your news, keep it coming.Neighbours at 22 sent a note to say drains playing up. No sweat, they are getting S. Water round to seek long-term guidance! I have bit of a throat and snuffles today.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0693s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb