Rain stopped play.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Macquarie
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Xms tree at theState ParliamentXms tree at theState ParliamentXms tree at theState Parliament

Xmas inthe sunshine - cannot get used to it.
Hello
Have you missed me this last week I wonder? As you would guess from the title we have had a bit of rain!!!! Driving up to Brisbane on one of the tourist drives I did see flood signs at creeks and gullies for 4 m then 12 m and I did wonder a bit about the rainfall!!! So since I got back last Tuesday we have had quite a lot of rain.
Anyway my last days in Brisbane were great and I enjoyed going here and there on the busses all round the city and surrounds - Lovely Botanic Gdns and Roma Park - South Bank again - pedestrian bridges over the river etc - so well done Brisbane and Queensland for providing all the green spaces in their city....and it looks like they are building special underpasses and roads just for busses !!! Now thats a good model for any big city. Of course I had to take more river trips on the CAT - and my last one was at night to see the city lights.
I did the returen drive 600km in one day - making several stops of course... and one really long one at Sawtell to meet up with Yvonne again - ( Geraldine, your sis in law is lovely and looking forward to us making a trip to Switzeralnd next year to see her - we got it planned!!!).
So back in Port, as it's known, now for the rest of the month. Rainy days didnt seem to stop the cafe society of Port- and some days there were 9 of us meeting at one of the lovely cafes here. Susan's friend Maureen is a real pal and has organised all our meetings and outings. So lovely to meet all these nice people. At times I do stay put in my new home and I have been reading quite a lot of Aussie books - its good to get into the culture and lifestyle...some have been non-fiction, others historical but all good. So I am going through the bookshelves here -and Susan - I loved Dirt Music - I could imagine it as a great movie - with Hugh Jackman of course. I did try a PD James for a change of scene and genre but I really dont like her - I knowshe is popular and I didnt like the first one of hers I read but thought I would give her another try ...but sorry she is too pedantic and all thoses double-barelled names - get a life !!!
Sorry to digress into literary discussion.
Social life also included a trip to the Panthers Club - evry town has these clubs either RSL , Bowling etc and cater for non members to go in and there is a resto, entertainment, a gaming machines. Well there was a quiz nite so off a group of us went and I didnt win first prize but somewhere down the line I won a box of Roses chocs ...thats a suprise when some of the questions were about Australia and I hadnt a clue!!! There was also a guy singing and playing guitar - he was agood - Rod Stewart type husky voice and a good repertoire. Some people were dancing... oh and I didnt mention that I was instructed before we went that I could wear my trainers as the club had a dress code!!! WOW - so lacking any shoes - I had to wear my clonky sandals....if I had known I could have put my little gold sandals in . This is Aussie life - great fun.
One of the ladies I met invted us for a bbq and it was too wet for the beach so we went to her home - thanks Wilma ... and finally the sun came out and there I am in the pool... why am I always the only one who goes in the pool!!
I have met another lovely well- travelled english women, Maggie who is looking for a place to live here. We have had lots to chat about and experiences to share.
Sunday there was a lovely market down by the river in a very nice little town Laurieton, 30 mins from here - some lovely crafts, great local foodie stalls - beautiful pottery and wooden items. Afterwards I had areally long walk on a beach - a bit too much sun yesterday... sorry - I am not complaining I know Richard said there were snow flurries in Stockholm!!!
I saw avery nice show at the new theatre, The Glasshouse , here in Port today- a tribute to an Aus singer and composer who I had nevr heard of - Peter Allen- but I knew many of the songs- he had workedwith Judy Garland, Burt Bacharach, and married Liza Minelli. It was a really good show I bought the cd later.
At the end of the week some of us are going to see Kiss me Kate - so there's lots going on here.
Well thats about up to date now - love to all and especially to Richard who is going to be the grand age of 25 tomorow, HAPPY BIRTHDAY.
Love L xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

My Queenslander HomeMy Queenslander Home
My Queenslander Home

Thansk Fiona and Anthony for letting me stay in your home.
My prize!My prize!
My prize!

I ate them all one day when it was raining!!!
In the pool.In the pool.
In the pool.

I didn't think it was too cold !!!!!


22nd November 2010

edit from Lynne
Re - the trainers - that was supposed to readI COULDN"T wear my trainers!!
22nd November 2010

Sounds like you are having a very cultured adventure, Lynn. I like the look of that BBQ! Glad to see you have your next trip planned. Take Care Love Geraldine
22nd November 2010

Hi Lynne, Great blog. wondered where you were. Glad you are ok and having great time. All the best Bob and Prill.
22nd November 2010

Rain!!
Rainy too in Scotland, Lynne, and a lot colder than Oz BUT the friendliness of the people more than makes up for the grey weather. Love reading your blog. Lots of love from Pauline & the animal tribe.
23rd November 2010

travel
well, dear pal, what a wonderful time you are having! so many new friends and geat experiences! I shall tell you about Nepal and fasting up a mountain when i see you! And I too am off travelling again - back to Manchester next week.....a big change from sunny Dubai! Keep smiling. Love
23rd November 2010

snow and literature
Well, I hope you're not complaining about a drop of rain. It's been non stop here since Friday but now turning icy and sleety with - guess what- heavy snow forecast. Agree with you re Dirt Music. read it a few years ago and thought it was very good, am also not a fan of PD James. If you get a chance to go to the cinema , look out for Another Year (Mike Leigh film). Superb, I thought. OK enough of weather and culture get back to your hols and keep up the good blog, Sue xxx
28th November 2010

trainers
Hi Lynny, read ur blog with interest and---well pleased to hear that GOLF CLUBS are NOT the only places that have dress code!! just returned to UK from Algarve and SNOW here!! looking for ticket straight back out!!! we joined in the local golf clubs weekly comp and guess what? yep I managed to WIN the round plus Nearest the pin comp, plus the 'birdie pot' (explain when see you!!) not too popular with the locals, haha. won ALL the euros! (not worth much at mo tho!!) have fun take care love all the bonnysxxx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb