Lamb Chop


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
December 21st 2009
Published: December 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 409



I was up bright and early this morning and went in to the kitchen, it was like the Mary Celeste, as quite as the grave.

The kettle was put on and tea was made, I knew this morning that Helen, and Robert were up at Hazeldene weighing sheep ready for market, Helen had told us what was happening so we wouldn’t feel like we have been abandoned.

This morning Ross Jilbert from Landmark would be there at 7.00am to verify the count and the weight of the sheep.

We have met Ross before a very nice guy who we met the very first day at Woodstock back in February, 05/02/2009 blog day 90 Weigh to Go, well I had said to Helen that I would like to pass my Christmas wishes on to Ross, so whilst having my morning tea the Woodstock phone rang, which I answered, It was Helen to say they were 15 minutes from finishing so if I wanted to see Ross I needed to get up to Hazeldene toot sweet (I am chuckling to myself while editing this and my friend Barbara would be laughing her head off, she is French, I think Andy means to say Toute De Suite, but of course in English we butcher it to Toute Suite!)

I got up there and parked the truck I could see everyone up by the sheep pens, with Wally, Trixie and Jack jumping in and out of the sheep pens, mustering these woolly creatures.

When the count was confirmed I moved forward so I wouldn’t be in the way, Ross and I shook hands and wished each other a Merry Christmas.

I gathered that there were some Lambs that were slightly over weight, it is Ross’s position to find the customers for sheep farmers like Robert but as he also represents the client the sheep are supposed to fall within a certain weight criteria.

There were only about 5 sheep that were slightly over and Ross said to put them in with the mob of sheep and it should be ok, so 253 sheep later this batch will soon be boarded into the truck and heading off to the abattoir, soon to be packed and onto the shelves from Woolworths.

I asked what the difference would be if some tubby sheep were also in the load of svelte Sheep, apparently Woolworths like their lamb chops “just so” they all need to look just uniform, heavens if the planet has not got enough to worry about let alone getting the lamb chops just right.

Ross had asked if we were still on our grand tour of Australia and I had confirmed we still were, I apologised for Caroline, sending him her best wishes but she had a diddums cold and was staying in bed a little longer.

Just as we were all talking messages came over Helen, Robert and Jason’s phone which was a fire alert, there was a fire at Phillip Sheridan’s farm which is one of Roberts Brothers.

Jason and Robert bolted for Jason’s Ute and were off to the fire, Robert shouted something to Helen, which she deciphered as needing to put 3 lambs, back in the paddock with the other ewes and lambs, as they had escaped.

Helen and I opened some gates and closed others, then Wally, Trixie and Jack were sent out to do what they do best, round sheep up and muster them where they should go, I watched fascinated, Trixie gets a little over enthusiastic and runs around all over the place, but Wally is like a good squash player, never moving to much and making it all look very easy and professional.

The Lambs are back where they should be so we go around and shut the gates again.

We get back to the farm and park the flat bed Ute up by the sheds, and take off the weighing trap, which is really quite heavy, but we get it done, I take her back to the homestead where we find Caroline having a cup of tea.

Helen and I need to go in to Wagga to get some final provisions for Christmas and for Wednesday night, Helen has 19 people for a pre Christmas soiree, and we have lots of stuff to get, plus pick up something for Nangus 5 (The Woodstock Fire engine), Jason’s computer, a gift for Robert, beers and wines, vegetables, etc.

After our mammoth tramp around Wagga we finally get back to Woodstock at 3.30pm with the car absolutely bursting at the gunnels.

We started to take everything out of the car and Caroline gave us a hand, but its not long before “Old Butter Fingers” picks up a large box and the bottom falls out spilling its contents all over the place.

Soon it’s all done and I wander off to the bed room for a late afternoon snooze, which is my luxury.

When I wake, I go and sit with the girls and do some of the blog, we have been watching an alloy roof basket for the Patrol on Ebay and eventually win it, we have been after one for ages, but brand new you would pay at least $1600.00 bucks, I think it would be better to put our 2nd Nissan Spare wheel up there along with our swag, the shovel and stuff like that, i.e. things we hope not to use to frequently, the other thing we really want is a pull out awning that will fit to the roof rack, so if we want to pull up and make a sandwich we can pull it out and have instant shade, equally you could un roll the swag under the awning and have instant shelter if required.

We will have to drive to Sydney to collect it which shouldn’t be a problem we just need to arrange when we can collect it, it will be roughly a 5 hour drive there and 5 hours back, we might be able to work it in with a little sightseeing and stay out for a night somewhere.

Jason came by in his Ute and collected his PC, which we had collected today, Jason was pleased, I said that the computer repairers had fully tested it so it should all be working.

Watching the evening news tonight, there was a snake warning saying that “snake people” have started to get busy, busier than usual and they think it is down to the harvest.

They are saying that more Eastern Browns, Tigers and Red bellied blacks around and each of these will pack more than enough to kill you if you don’t do what is required to keep you alive.

Something we forgot to mention last week when we went out to Nargoon a couple of Sundays ago, Bronwyn who is the principle of Nangus School, well her brother in law was bitten by a tiger snake, well unfortunately he didn’t do what he should have done and lost his life

Robert comes in and we all have our evening meal, tonight we had Woodstock lamb chops “yummy”.

After tea, we sit down with our books and read, Caroline put a DVD on and I cannot concentrate on reading when the TV is on, so I go and sit in the lounge so I can give my book my all.

Helen and Robert retire to bed after a long day and an hour later it is time that we must go, Caroline had washed all the bed linen, which I love so after re making the bed its time for some Zzzzzzzz’s.

We bid you all a good night.

KJ.


Advertisement



22nd December 2009

Hello Andy and Caroline
Or is Caroline and Andy? We'd get on great, I think, what with your kettle always being on! I guess I'll have to go back to work in about May - oh hang on, that sounds absurd. Maybe April.. The most likely scenario is that I'll do another six months for AC/DC and U2 - yep, they're still going on their World Tours.. I'm not idle at home, though! There are a few projects in the pipeline.. Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year. And keep the blogs coming!! Barnaby x
23rd December 2009

Happy Holidays
You two have a very Merry Christmas and the best of travels in 2010. Even if you stop for employment for a time, travel will beckon. Gary
23rd December 2009

Happy Christmas
Have a great Christmas guys. If Wantabadgery is too full, try the river at Gumly Gumly. I lived there as a student in the 90s and it was very pleasant then. John

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb