Day 400


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
December 12th 2009
Published: December 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 400


Would you believe it is day 400 today? I cannot quite believe it myself, I had not realised until I sat to type the blog up for yesterday.

We had another relatively peaceful night after my idle threat with the rolled us newspaper just before going to bed, well I think so anyway, I did hear a dawn chorus of howling but that either did not last long or I just slept through it anyway!

I find Andy and Helen sat in the kitchen drinking tea, Robert too was sat there, unusually late for Robert as he is always long gone by the time I get up. I make a cup of tea, but for breakfast Helen decides that bacon and eggs must be a good thing this morning, well it is Saturday so that can only be a good thing.

Robert had gone out so it was just the three of us for breakfast. I don’t know why but it felt as if it needed to be a lazy day, but maybe psychologically that is because it is the weekend, these weekends seem to be coming thick and fast at the moment, I guess because there is never a dull moment on the farm and we did have a busy week, I cannot even blame it on a late night as we left the school presentation early last night.

Andy gets on with tidying up Helens car, while I unpack Andy’s suitcase to sort out his clothes, but for the moment instead of putting them back I just tidy them into a space in the wardrobe, it gives us a little more room in the bedroom if I can tidy the cases away.

I sort my whites out so that I can put them into soak before washing, I maybe fighting a losing battle now in terms of trying to keep them white, but never mind I did know that when I wore them so I cannot grumble, but it is worth a last shot.

Susan appeared at 11.00, she was not alone, she brought a couple of dogs with her from Canberra. The idea being that she was seeing how they get on with the other dogs as she will be looking after them over the Christmas period while a friend of hers goes away on holiday.

There is one Kelpie called Rocky and Misha, which is a tiny little dog and so called because she is a mishmash of breeds. Because some of the other dogs are around the outside of the house there is a bit of curiosity happening outside, Kimba as usual trying to protect her “turf”, the veranda from these strangers and growls at Rocky, she is not happy with the intrusion, on the other hand the others Tiny and Trixie are not certain what to make of Misha, she could be a miniature sheep to them, do they round her up or do they leave her alone? Time will tell.

It takes the dogs a while to work things out, but to make things easier Susan and I take the dogs for a walk, Toby comes too, but as soon as we are out in the paddock we find that Wally has joined us, I think he wants to check things out and make sure he is not missing out on something.

Toby and Rocky have a growl at each other, but after that seem happy that they know each other’s boundaries, we walk on the edge of what used to be a creek, but the long drought has dried it up, this creek used to have an abundance of wildlife including Platypus. It is sad how the drought has changed so many things around here, the landscape, and the wildlife and not to mention how everyone who lives and visits the area has to adapt to the lack of water.

Andy still being in sorting and cleaning mode got the swag out and set it up on the lawn, he was anxious to see if it was still ok, although it has been securely wrapped and tied onto the trailer we think some water may have got in, and upon checking found this was the case, so a little bit of mould had formed on the mattress cover.

The swag, which was wrapped in a large tarp and had been secured on the front of the camper trailer, and somewhere along the line of the number of river crossings we have undertaken, or possibly the odd day that it has rained, water has crept and caused patches of mould.

Andy got a bucket of hot water and vinegar with a sponge wiped all the patches of mould
Latex Weather BaloonLatex Weather BaloonLatex Weather Baloon

More than a cheap afternoon in Amsterdam
off, hoping to kill the spores, he dragged the foam mattress out of the cover, so that it could be washed. I’ve got a funny feeling that when all clean he will sleep a night in the Swag, just to make sure everything is A OK.

We had a lazy afternoon, I did say it would be a lazy day, we sat and watched a DVD, Priscilla Queen of the Desert, a very good light hearted film for a Saturday afternoon, during which Jason phoned, asking if we could feed Candy for him while he was away for the rest of the weekend.

Susan and I duly obliged, later on taking both Rocky and Misha for another walk down the lane to Merryville and fed Candy, who upon seeing the two strange dogs decided that she needed to protect her growing puppies and stayed put only standing up and approaching Rocky to growl a warning at him.

It was late afternoon and the heat of the sun was still bearing down, but still it beats being cold! We had a really productive day, but it was hard to document as we all had done different things.
CandyCandyCandy

Looking for Doggy intruders

Andy by now had poured himself a bowl of hot water and sat on the veranda with his feet in the bowl as he needed a “happy feet” moment, as they were all rough, and needed some work done, I asked him if he needed anything and he said a towel and a beer, how spoilt is he? I joined him on the veranda with a glass of wine and we sat and admired the still stunning view of the land ahead of us.

Just before our evening meal Robert came back with a Meteorological Weather Balloon that he had found in one of their paddocks, it smelt of latex, but the balloon was shredded and the electronic gizmo attached just indicated that caution should be taken in disposing of the thing.

Helen had cooked one of our favourite dinners, chicken and rice and it was delicious, we all sat down after and watched the film “The Dish” which we absolutely love and have seen so many times and if you have been reading our blog from the beginning you will understand how The Dish, Parkes Radio Telescope has become a bit of an icon to us.

Susan was the first to announce that she was going to bed, it was 8.20, then Robert made his announcement, then Helen followed at 9.05pm, Caroline and myself managed to finish the film, but we were dead beat by 10.20.

However just before we sank into bed, I went out on to the back veranda to stand and watch the night sky, it was truly amazing, so black, I said to Caroline that me must never take this for granted, we are so privileged to be able to look in to the heavens and see such an amazing night sky. At which point Caroline said she had seen a shooting star.

So until tomorrow bloggers, we bid you a good starry night!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

KimbaKimba
Kimba

Searching for Gecko's


13th December 2009

why don't you...
Write a book about your travels? When you're done, that is! It's probably been suggested before, even though I don't know you, I think it's a brilliant idea, I would buy it! You both write very well :)
13th December 2009

hi, i've been reading your blogs from about the first month, love them. i am an aussie living in the states so have been enjoying the pictures you paint of my first home. keep on having a great time.
13th December 2009

Namibian is not pregnant!
He is, however, a disgrace..but I love him to bits. Oh, I remember sleeping in a swag once - somewhere between Adelaide and Uluru. I don't think we get them in Europe but they're just brilliant.. Bloody Aussies have all the fun!!
14th December 2009

A book can never be....
too big! Well, even if you don't, as you say you've still got the travel blog! And thank you, have a good Christmas and new year too! I'm sure I'm gonna know what you get up to, lol!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb