Its all about Trixie


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
December 7th 2009
Published: December 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 395


Andy was sitting at the kitchen worktop when I appeared this morning, I slept so heavily last night, despite a good chorus from the dogs, and felt tired still, but when we sleep indoors I don’t always wake up as early as I do when we are camping out.

While I made a cup of tea and some toast for breakfast, Andy Skyped our friends Gary and Karen back in England, during the conversation we received a complaint to the editor, Gary had to wait 2 days for the last blog and thinks its not good enough, sorry Gary will try not to let it happen again, just a small issue of no internet in the middle of Kosciuszko National Park!

While we were chatting to Gary and Karen a little Kelpie nose appeared at the kitchen door, it was Trixie! I expected to see the other dog’s congregate and Helen return but no, just Trixie, I was a mighty bit suspicious about this as you would not normally see just one of them wandering around and if she had been out on a sheep run then you would usually see Helen and Robert appear.

I went outside to have a look, I wondered if she had broken her chain, but she did not have any remnants on her collar, I went to her kennel and found the chain and clasp completely in tact, but something still told me that she had not been let off this morning.

I left her on the veranda, she mostly slept except everytime one of us went outside she jumped up to greet us, wagging her tail so much that her behind struggled to keep up with her, she does have that guilty look on her face though!

While Helen was out Andy decided to check the light fittings in the kitchen, we are going to help Helen get everything in order for Christmas as she will have a full house so we took the light fittings down emptying the dead flies out of them (remember the swarms of flies that were here when we arrived to help with the harvest), well I did say that the flies truly get everywhere and even though there is barely a gap they all congregated inside the light where they fried.

So everything was washed before putting it back and Andy replaced any lamps that were not working.

I popped outside at one point to find Trixie had wandered, I looked into the distance and could see a black blob down by the fence on the opposite side of the lower dam, I shouted at her to come back and dutifully, although slowly wandered back up to the veranda, where I told her to stay, and she did.

When Helen came back we set about doing some dusting and clearing one of the cupboards, Andy only had one word to say to Helen and that was “Minimalism”. Personally I think Andy has secretly been watching too many of these home improvement programmes, but one word was enough to convince Helen that a box or two was needed for the Salvo’s (Salvation Army).

Helen also confirmed that Trixie had worked out how to get her lead off and thus it was probably what made the dogs bark so much in the night. Something tells me that Trixie won’t be popular with the others tonight as she has been off for most of the day.

So amongst a mêlée of dusting and sorting we even polished
It wasn	 me!It wasn	 me!It wasn me!

Trixie runs back to me after I noticed her missing.....
the family silver, which at some point I got bored and did some Wii Fit, we managed to clear out one whole cabinet leaving room to have a reshuffle and there is still some empty space.

I managed to spend an hour doing some Wii fit, I hope that a couple of weeks of this will make a difference to my fitness levels, so we will see, maybe with a fitness age of 36 and a brain age of 24 Andy could perceive that I am a younger woman.

Later in the afternoon the other dogs were let off for a run, they mostly mess around on the lawn play fighting with each other, but I looked through the window and realised that my flip flops (thongs) were missing from where I left them, which can only mean one thing, they must be on the lawn somewhere.

Upon getting outside, Tiny knew exactly what I was looking for, she ran across the lawn and promptly sat on the flip flop that now had a chunk chewed off the back of it, playfully she would not allow me to get it seeking only to try and play with me instead.

I should have known better than to leave them outside the door, still any excuse to buy a new pair, thanks Tiny!

I caught up with the Wallaby Wanderers blog, they are still having fun in WA (Western Australia) and hoping to cross the Nullarbor sometime before Christmas, we hope that sometime in the new year if not before that we get chance to cross paths again.

I am on dinner duty tonight, while Helen gets a rare opportunity to sit down and relax I cook up a mean chilli in our camp oven, except that we did not cook up on the fire, I just cooked it up on the electric hob, but it still tastes good coming from a camp oven.

We indulge in a glass of gin and tonic before dinner satisfied with a productive day of cleaning, (Susan we have saved you from doing it when you come home at Christmas!)

With not much on TV last night, we sat down to read, Helen disappeared for an early night, but not long after we went to bed, I stayed awake a little longer as I wanted to finish reading my book, with that done I settled down to sleep.

However the dogs had other ideas, they suddenly started to bark with a vengeance and even a growl or two, I sat bolt upright in bed wondering what on earth was going on out there, but they soon settled and so did I.

So again a fun packed day and we hope you will join us tomorrow. KJ



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Polished SilverPolished Silver
Polished Silver

Nice and shiny ready for christmas


8th December 2009

keep up the cleaning
8th December 2009

Woodstock
Glad to see that things turned around and you are back at Woodstock. It should certainly make the next month much better for you both. Hope all goes well with the 'tummy' button, Andy. I, personally, don't mind when you don't get your blog updated right away. It just makes us look forward to the updates. Take care and I will keep following you.
16th December 2009

Sexy dancin
I thought you were sexy dancin' for a minute then Caz! Andy, you must be able to get hands on some shearers for your mullet! ;o) xx

Tot: 0.669s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 26; qc: 194; dbt: 0.4436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb