No Flies On Us


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Nangus
November 22nd 2009
Published: November 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Gary & Linda Sigsworth at Red BluffGary & Linda Sigsworth at Red BluffGary & Linda Sigsworth at Red Bluff

Gary and Linda have been following our blog for a long while, they share a love of Australia, Gary sent us this picture.
DAY 380

It’s Sunday today, but as usual everyone is up and out on harvest duty somewhere on these 6000 acres.

I start my day with stripping the bed linen, I see in the laundry that Helen has done the same thing so as she has a huge top loader washing machine I put the whole lot in together.

While the washing machine does its thing I have some breakfast. By the time I have finished breakfast, the bed linen is done, so I hang that on the line and put all the towels in, I know, you are thinking how exciting my day is going to be!

Rain is promised today, really it is, so for a brief spell we actually get some, it hurls down for a few minutes and then stops, Helen seemed to think that it would stop them from harvesting and they would be currently covering the grain. But no, apparently we hear that it did not rain in the field that they are working in, so they carried on.

I have a couple of audio books that I am uploading to Itunes, I thought it would be straightforward but no, it is not, it does not seem to index them properly, I sync’d the Ipod and there appears to be no order whatsoever, so I am going to have to figure out a way to index them, but I suspect it may take some time, one of the books has 12 discs.

The birds are in abundance outside, I have let four of the dogs off this morning, Toby, Wally, Jack and Trixie, all but Toby take great delight in chasing the birds, I hope that the birds are too quick for them today, unlike a few days ago when I found them playing with one. I guess that’s the problem with sheep dogs, it is in their nature, they cannot help but chase anything that moves.

Toby in the meantime takes an unusual manoeuvre he sits on the doormat by the kitchen door, the reason is because Kimba is not sat there, Kimba is still in her compound with Tiny. Kimba does not get on with Toby and thus usually parades up and down the veranda growling at Toby to warn him off the veranda, her territory, and warn him off her puppies Tiny and Trixie that are now coming up to 18 months old.

Every time I step outside the door, Toby stands up and goes to give me a hug, in other words jumps up on his hind legs to rest his paws on my shoulders, I wouldn’t mind but he does it every time he sees me and usually after he has been wading around the fish pond so if I happen to be wearing clean clothes, they do not stay clean for long! Toby seems more comfortable and less mischievous while Kimba is not around.

Josh pops in to collect the packed lunches for everyone, I made Andy a cup of tea in his travel mug for Josh to take, as I am sure he misses his 10 times daily tea!

In the meantime Helen and I pop out to Junee, we need a few groceries and there is a certain chocolate & liquorice factory in Junee that we are going to visit, a little bit of escapism to go and wander around the gift shop and grab a skinny latte. There are a couple of girls in the café singing and playing guitars, I am not sure if they are local, although nice, the noise easily drowns the sound of any conversation.

I refrain from spending money in the gift shop with my hands firmly in my pockets on my wallet even though there is plenty of stuff in there that I would love to buy, they have some of the Jamie Oliver range of crockery here, which I had been collecting in England, looks like I will be able to collect some more of it over here. However not quite so successful in the café where they sell the liquorice I purchased a couple of bags, of course with the intention of keeping them for Christmas, we will see how successful that will be!

We skip into the supermarket and pick up some vital necessities like cheese, crackers, fruit, veg etc. Then it is back to Woodstock to unload and re stock the cupboards. I picked up some bits and pieces for a chicken curry, Andy is keen to make one of his curries as it seems to have been too long.

I let Kimba and Tiny out of their compound, Tiny also takes great pleasure in jumping up at me, but she is a much smaller dog and does not push me over, Tiny also takes great pleasure in wading through the fish pond and coming over for a hug!

Unusually Kimba runs around the lawn playing with Tiny, this is a display we don’t often see, but with Toby out of the way, she is not compelled to parade up and down the veranda protecting her territory and her puppies.

Andy and Josh appear at some point, they are having a rest, as Jason has worked almost right through he needed a bit of sleep. A couple of bottles of beer appeared, and then Andy disappeared into the living room to read his book (Sheryl McCorry’s, Stars Over Shiralee). Both Andy and Jason look as if they could sleep for a week, but it looks like they are getting a chance for a night off, a chaser bin driver is not required tonight. So another couple of bottles of beer come out and they both look exceptionally relaxed.

Andy makes the chicken curry for tomorrow night’s dinner, it will taste much better tomorrow night once all of the spices and chillies have had a chance to “fester”

Helen has cooked up a great dinner tonight, roast pork, roast potatoes, vegetables and lashings of gravy, it was delicious especially washed down with a glass of wine.

Helen likes the Australian Pop Idol, which is on TV tonight so we have to watch that, I never used to watch the British version of Pop Idol but feel compelled to watch this one, as it is the final, which is staged at Sydney Opera House. I have to say a difficult choice, both Stan and Hayley deserve to win, they have terrific voices and hopefully a terrific career ahead of them.

Andy and Josh disappear to bed (separately!) at a time little after 9.00, they will be up early in the morning and back on it, so a good nights sleep is in order.

I finish up the blog uploading photos and publishing, by 11.00 I too find my way to bed.

The best bit about today, those pesky little flies are not here, well ok so the chocolate and liquorice factory was the best bit, but it was certainly great not to have to worry about the abundant flies that seem to get everywhere, you would be surprised at where you would find these flies!

Andy was fast asleep by the time I slipped into bed, no doubt I will be fast asleep in the morning when he gets up.

I fall asleep to the nighttime chorus of all the lovely dogs barking.

Until tomorrow!


Advertisement



23rd November 2009

ipod audio books
Make sure that you save them into a separate playlist, and make double sure that you do not have the shuffle button on and that you have the sort by album. That should help them come out in order. I had the same issue and that's how I figured it out. Good luck!
24th November 2009

Shuffle
Thanks Mindy, I will make a playlist, easiest solution I think. Caroline
20th December 2011
Gary & Linda Sigsworth at Red Bluff

Long time No See
Dear Linda and Gary, I just stumbled across this and I must say I am most delighted to see you guys so happy together. It's been 25 years since I left Smith and Canada for a career in Hong Kong! Met up with Stan Au and Lawrence Howorth a few times since but have not been in touch for a while. Are you still in Edmonton? I do visit my parents from time to time. May be we can hook up next time I visit, probably in April or May 2012. Best Wishes from Hong Kong, Louis.

Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb