Waiting for the world adventure to begin


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Murwillumbah
December 5th 2009
Published: December 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, what can i say? We have had issues with our mobile server with reducing the mobile ph contract from 2x$60/ month to a more smaller plan, but we have been cheated on the plan and we cant reduce the plans and we were told that we could. Now we will have to quarantine the number until we come back and i hope that I will not loose business over this as we will be fukn pissed off. I am also pissed off with the accountant as we have sent them our tax return 4 months ago and have called them twice on how it was going and they said they will get back to me, we didn’t hear anything from them as i went in today to make sure everything was fine for the next two years. Everything looked sweet until Andrew from best business rang up and said they don’t even have our tax return. Its just another thing we have to get organise before we go.
The last couple of weeks have been so busy and confusing. I have been really stressed out as I know we were running out of time. I have felt that i am out of my comfort zone and do not know which way to turn. I have been 100 times busier than this at work but the stress has been 1000 times greater. With every little thing ticked off the list there is another three added. We both have been really snappy and have had more fights in the last week than we have in a year. Last night I didn’t go to bed until 12:00 because i had to finish sealing the deck. I’m glad i stayed up so late because even after waking up at 4:30 i still managed to run late for the road worthy on jeremys car. I’m sure i set a new land speed record for a ford festiva on my way down to Murwillumbah.
Well with new number plates and rego sticker on, Jeremy’s has a new car to his name. It was time to cross another thing off the list and I was praying that mum was still in town doing the shopping so i could catch a ride with her back home. A 10sec call was all it took to confirm my worst fears. She had already finished her shopping and was back in the safe haven called home, this is something that we all take for granted as i will find out soon enough.
I was very reluctant to get into the car with Jeremy as he has only just go his “L”s after losing his licence five years for DUI. I have always known Jeremy to be very uncoordinated, even when we were young it still took him twice as long to learn how to ride a bike and throw a ball, let alone drive a car. He organise a lady friend to drive back with him to Lismore Her name was Cary and I’m not sure if she knew what I knew but her sense of calmness had convinced me that things have change sinse I last sore Jeremy four years ago.
With Jeremy in the driver seat and the engine already running I jumped into the car and proceed to buckle up. Cary had just planted her big bum on the front passenger seat and her feet were still resting on the gutter ready to swing around when no sooner Jeremy pulled out in front of some traffic and took off up the road changing gears in an unfamiliar way. Cary’s door was not even shut and it flew out under tension with her almost following, and swang back almost guillotining her leg off.
I was just about to click the seat belt into the holder at the same time and got trusted back into the seat. I was confused on what action I should take next, should i look up and see what we are going to crash into or should i look down and scurry for the belt and attachment. With a quick glance up i saw open road and a safe window of opportunity to belt up as quickly as i could. With pin point accuracy i trusted the belt into the holder with almost enough force to blow it out the other side. An instant sigh of relief came over me when i felt and herd the distinct sound of the lock striking the safety catch. Cary had the opposite idea and she felt by gripping the dashboard with white knuckles was a much better option. Once we had straighten out down the road and Jeremy reaching for third gear we all found our positions of comfort “including Cary” and with one last click of Cary’s seat belt we were on our way. I’m sure if I was religious it would of been a very appropriate time to say few Hail Mary’s. Jeremy negotiated the roundabout with little hesitating turning towards main St Murwillumbah.
I started to feel a little calmer as Jeremy was consistently checking his mirrors and blinds spots for approaching cars. I confirmed our direction of travel to Jeremy as we approach a zebra crossing. The crossing lights turned red and Jeremy negotiated down the gears using engine breaking to slow our approach. Trying to change down from third to second Jeremy accidentally slipped the car into forth and with people already walking across the road Jeremy was concentrating more on trying to find second gear rather than stoping. Jeremy quickly realised that the crossing was coming up sooner than first thought and what better way to test the brakes on your new car than doing it in front of a fully paraded zebra crossing. This also served two purposes it also tested out the three seat belts that we were wearing and there ability to hold up under the huge strain of Cary’s big arse.
With the crossing parade coming an abrupt end the road became a clear runway and an opportunity to carry on our journey, not before the seatbelts were tested for a second time as Jeremy realised the the lights hadn’t turned green yet. With one quick swear word from Jeremy’s mouth the light change green, Cary defended Jeremy by saying that the are not used to dealing with traffic lights because there is none in Lismore.
I’m trying to relax as i’m writing this but i wont be able to until I know that Jacinta’s is home at mum’s and safe with me. Maybe then it will feel like i have imagined it would feel all those months ago. I’m still waiting for that weight to me lifted and a sense of accomplishment for all the hard work that we have put in over the last couple of months. If not now maybe on Monday when the car is in the container.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb