Last days


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Manly
February 9th 2013
Published: February 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day of the weekDay of the weekDay of the week

Each day the staff change the day in the lift so you know what day it is.
Hi everyone

I am currently sitting on the balcony watching the magnificent view as we sail into Sydney Harbour. It’s our last day aboard Voyager of the Seas and what an incredible voyage it has been. I feel like I have been living in a dream for the past two weeks. It’s been one of those holidays where time has gone slowly. I think it’s because there has been so much to see and do. Being waited on hand and foot has been pretty amazing too. We’ve taken a few pictures around the ship so you can see what it looked like.

As I sit here and reflect, I can’t help wondering why we didn’t go on a cruise before. It is ABSOLUTELY magical. I’m not sure if all the other lines are as good as Royal Caribbean but I’d like to find out. I was somewhat dubious about the food because it is an American ship and would serve overly sweet food. While there was that kind of food available, it was easily avoided because of the great range being served. For example, I had crocodile for dinner one night and Peter had duck. I had great intentions of going to the awesome gym but ended up at the awesome restaurants instead!! No fat jokes when we get home please!

Last night was the official ending of the cruise and the waiters (about 150) did a parade around the three stories of the restaurant. They waved white serviettes around in the air and sang a modified version of “Anchors Away” Apparently it’s a tradition on board ship. Although it was a tiny bit naff, you couldn’t help but join in the fun. It was quite touching really.

Yesterday we also saw the DreamWorks parade. The characters from Shrek and Madagascar paraded around with dozens of characters on costume. I high fived Gloria from Madagascar and also patted the lion on the head. I was the biggest kid in the crowd.

The ports we visited were very nice. As you know I was really taken with Dunedin. I definitely want to go back there. Overall New Zealand was lovely. The weather was fabulous and the wine gorgeous. Just being able to cruise into places and walk around and come back for lunch or dinner was great. It takes a lot of the drama out of visiting places. Sure, you only get a short time ashore but we treated the experience as a NZ sampler-we know where to go next time.

We met some interesting people aboard ship. The couple (Nicole and Andrew) who claimed to have had sex at Cadbury World to win a competition were hysterical. We also met a lovely couple (Lorrie and Lintell) from Idaho who took the potato jokes really well. We came across a little kid who had donuts, Danish pastry and potato croquettes for breakfast. That was very amusing.

So would we go again? In a heartbeat! We are hoping to do the Alaska cruise with my Auntie Sandra who lives in Canada. Anyone interested in joining us?

Well, we’ve pulled ashore opposite the Opera House once again. We have the best view of anyone on the ship…amazing!

This is my last blog until our next trip. I hope you enjoyed sailing along with us on Voyager of the Seas.

Xx pj and sandy


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Pig and Whistle pubPig and Whistle pub
Pig and Whistle pub

Peter spent a lot of time here!


9th February 2013

On the high seas
Hi Sandy I have been reading your blog with great interest especially as cruising is not something I have done. Sounds like an amazing experience... thanks for sharing your cruizy holiday through your blog. Kerry
16th February 2013

Cruise
Thanks Kerry. I love writing the blog and I'm glad you liked it. I was thinking of suggesting you might have that water conference on a cruise bat. They have conference room available. Xx S

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0649s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb